American Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a good base recipe for making frittatas. I use half the amount of potatoes (which I prefer to use hash browns for convenience) and throw in whatever I have on hand to make up for it (ham, sausage, bacon, peppers, leeks, broccoli, tomatoes, onions, etc.). I make it different almost every time. If I use bacon, I saute the potatoes, onions and bacon together and then pour the egg mixture directly into it. That subs out the vegetable oil for bacon grease which is much more flavorful. My family really likes American cheese in it so I cut slices into small pieces and toss it over the top. I make sure to push it into the egg mix a little bit so it doesn't get burnt in the oven. I add the shredded cheddar on top so that it protects the American cheese from getting browned. The cooking time for the oven seems a little bit short in the recipe so I cook the frittata for about 15 min. The top should be nice and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Loved it. Cant wait to make it again. I did change a few things, only because I cook with what I have, so no onions or ham, but I added leftover mettwursts, yellow squash, zuccini and a few tomatoes. great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was delicious, and a healthy alternative to our usual biscuits and gravy weekend breakfast. I added green peppers, and used only 4 eggs with on large baking potato. Also, I read some reviews that it was a little bland. I served it with salsa to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I agree with HomemakerSuzy-i halved the recipe to serve myself. 2 potatoes was way too much and i too added an extra egg to cover all the ingredients. adding more veggies and seasoning would make this 5-star. I'd also add cheese to the beaten eggs to infuse cheese throughout the frittata-having cheese just on top wasnt enough. I swapped maple-flavored bacon for ham, and then forgot to add the sausage. next time i'll use more meats and veggies, with less potato. a lot less, because i could barely taste the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I halved the recipe for two of us and even then used only one baking potato. Even that was too much potato...it over powered the taste of the vegetables (I used half an onion, half a green bell pepper and one clove garlic...next time I will double the veggies and use half a potato). Four eggs wasn't enough to cover the other ingredients so I added one more. I will make this again but will play with the ingredients to give it more flavor. I like another reviewer's idea of sausage/cajun seasoning and think chorizo with red/green bell peppers would be another good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I added 1 clove of garlic diced and used colby jack cheese, mozzerella,and parmesan cheeses. It turned out wonderful. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
We went out to breakfast and had a mound of american fries or hash browns leftover, so I hated to see them go to waste and took them home. I also had leftover fried onions and ham. I threw all of them in the frying pan and then followed the recipe from there. Great!!and I was happy to use what I already had. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Great recipe for our gluten free guests. Had to bake so it took longer than called for but worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Just sort of blah, no real taste. Easy to make though, however took longer to bake than stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made this and loved it but instead of using the potatoes she stated I used hashbrowns I had left over from the night before. It turned out wonderful!!! I made the hashbrown with salt, black pepper, sliced onions and rosemary sprigs sauteed in Olive Oil. When the recipe called for the onions I just used what I had in the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States