American Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
WOW- awesome. I eat a lot of eggs and was looking for something new to do with them. I also love my cast iron skillet and will take any excuse to cook with it. Recipe is great and easy to follow. The result was fantastic, I loved it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I make this often. I usually add chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I also felt this was a good base recipe. I did use hashbrowns for convenience which made this recipe much quicker. The potato to egg ratio was a little heavy so I will cut back slightly next time. This does need a bit more flavor. Next time I think I will also add bacon, garlic, & cream cheese. Even though I though it needed a bit more flavor, my 6 & 9 yr old really liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was great, I love egg dishes! I pricked and microwaved 2 potatoes (skin on) and let cool. Then I cubed them up and fried them in olive oil with diced onions, lots of good seasonings (seasoning salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder) and then went to step 3. Serve with fresh salsa! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is a great base recipe. I use hash browns for convenience like some others have mentioned. We prefer zesty pork sausage. I crumble that cook it and drain it well. Then I saute onions, red pepper and some garlic until tender. I add the hash browns and crisp them up a little. Then it's time to add the cooked sausage back in. I make sure it's nice and hot and then I'll add 10 beaten eggs. I cook that slowly on the stove top until the bottom is set well. I top it with cheddar and a little pepper jack cheese and pop it in the oven for about 10 minutes or until it's set. I serve it with salsa and sour cream. We eat this for breakfast on the weekend and use the left overs for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this frittata for Valentine's day morning breakfast for my family - everyone liked it, even my picky kids! I substituted bacon for the ham because that's what I have on hand. The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because we felt there was too much potato - I used on med-large and one small, and I think one large would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Great simple recipe that most anyone will love. A little time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a Very good recipe. Will be making again today to use up some leftover ham. The first time I made this recipe I cooked my potatoes in the microwave ( I'm lazy about washing pots). My choice to add sliced grape tomatoes and roasted chiles (have bags in freezer from our local Chile Fest.). Was so surprised my husband and son ate so much of this Frittata! This 2nd time I will make sure to leave out as many of the chile seeds as I can, my son thought it was too hot. Also served with salsa and sour cream on the side. I've made Frittata's before and this is one of the best! Thanks Jody, Hugs to U!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Pretty good following the recipe as written. My husband and daughter did not like so many potatoes in this frittata. I love potatoes so I thought the ratio was yummy. Next time, I'll cut down on the potatoes, add two more eggs, and green onions. This recipe is easy to tweak to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Its easy and adaptable to make different versions. I do use hash browns O'Brien for convenience and flavor. I also add fresh baby spinach as a way to get more veggies in the family diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States