American French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
First time making this soup, and it came out great. But it made the house strongly smell like onions all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I tried this recipe exactly as written and deem it to be snackey. I generally like French Onion soup and order it in restaurants when they feature it so I can compare it to what I make. Theirs seldom measures up. This one is very good, much easier to make and takes a lot less time than my my version. I buttered both sides of the crouton up and toasted both sides up so that the crouton is extremely dried out then the cheeses Chef John suggested. This allows the crouton to suck up as much of that delicious broth as possible. It's heavenly comfort food. I think this recipe however should come with some sort of a disclaimer which Chef John should have included... Please don't watch the video as you cook this recipe, I'm sure Chef John will not be responsible for any half eaten computer screens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was excellent! Not salty and had a "good finish" in the mouth. Used all beef broth but no other changes. A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Janus Walsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The technique of baking the onions and finishing them on the stove is genius and gave me time to get other things done. Layering the flavors intensifies the deliciousness (deglazing the pan with vinegar and wine). The consistency of the soup was perfect. I used balsamic vinegar and red wine in place of the sherry and asiago and gruyere in place of the sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack I used more thyme and a bay leaf in the stock. We had Caesar salad with it and a glass of Italian red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is the best onion soup I have made so far. Will make it again, and again for sure!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Complete and total awesomeness! The 2 hours plus of cooking is totally worth it because it cooks down to this thick and rich broth that is so restaurant worthy. I did miss the traditional cheese on top but what's stopping me? Not a thing. I love it...it's the best french onion I've made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
did not change a bit super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the best french onion soup! The whole house smells warm and inviting long after the onions have come out of the oven. Simple and easy to follow video
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This had a really good flavor to it. I didn't make it with the bread because I was already making grilled cheese for my son although I will have to try it the original way. I have never made french onion soup, I was glad for the easy instructions but it was a very time consuming recipe. Apparently this was the less time consuming version so I'm glad that I chose it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is a wonderfully flavored soup and the diced onions and onion baking shortcuts are definitely a plus over traditional French onion soup. Of the three soups I served tonight, this was the least popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States