American French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Oh my goodness! This was soooo good. Best French Onion soup we have ever had. Not salty and very flavorful, unlike any soup you could get in a restaurant. Halved the recipe for my husband and I and we had a hearty bowl plus a third bowl left over. Prepared the recipe as written, with the exception of using Swiss and Provolone cheese and used a multi grain bread for the toast. I made it a few days ahead so it would be an easy dinner to prepare after work. Thank you so much......AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
At first I thought the sherry was too strong so I added probably a cup to cup and a half more beef broth. Now it's good and once I added the bread and cheese, I didn't even taste the sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
First time making this soup, and it came out great. But it made the house strongly smell like onions all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I tried this recipe exactly as written and deem it to be snackey. I generally like French Onion soup and order it in restaurants when they feature it so I can compare it to what I make. Theirs seldom measures up. This one is very good, much easier to make and takes a lot less time than my my version. I buttered both sides of the crouton up and toasted both sides up so that the crouton is extremely dried out then the cheeses Chef John suggested. This allows the crouton to suck up as much of that delicious broth as possible. It's heavenly comfort food. I think this recipe however should come with some sort of a disclaimer which Chef John should have included... Please don't watch the video as you cook this recipe, I'm sure Chef John will not be responsible for any half eaten computer screens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was excellent! Not salty and had a "good finish" in the mouth. Used all beef broth but no other changes. A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Janus Walsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The technique of baking the onions and finishing them on the stove is genius and gave me time to get other things done. Layering the flavors intensifies the deliciousness (deglazing the pan with vinegar and wine). The consistency of the soup was perfect. I used balsamic vinegar and red wine in place of the sherry and asiago and gruyere in place of the sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack I used more thyme and a bay leaf in the stock. We had Caesar salad with it and a glass of Italian red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is the best onion soup I have made so far. Will make it again, and again for sure!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Complete and total awesomeness! The 2 hours plus of cooking is totally worth it because it cooks down to this thick and rich broth that is so restaurant worthy. I did miss the traditional cheese on top but what's stopping me? Not a thing. I love it...it's the best french onion I've made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
did not change a bit super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the best french onion soup! The whole house smells warm and inviting long after the onions have come out of the oven. Simple and easy to follow video
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States