American Flag Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by H.Carl
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I skipped the white cake and did all red, the cream cheese frosting acts as the white stripe, I think it looks much better this way. The stars didn't come out for me, next time I'll use pine nuts or something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.Carl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I frosted this cake with the Fluffy White Frosting recipe that I found on this site. I did not add any embellishments to the frosting because I wanted the effect of cutting a solid white cake and revealing the flag inside. Make sure you cool the cakes until they are stone cold before attempting to cut them in pieces. If they are at all warm the cakes will crumble and break. This cake was a hit at the Fourth of July family and friends picnic. I presented it with four sparklers poked into the top and lit as I carried it out to the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cocobabbs
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved making this cake! It took quite a long time and a lot of patience, but everyone's reaction to the cake was worth it. Definitely will try making it again next year. Should probably skip the white chocolate chips as they all sank to the bottom of the cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Bought three 16 ounce boxes of Duncan Hines moist white cake mix. The "six" on the package looks like a zero, and I could not find a 10.5 ounce box. Anyway, I used one box for the white layers, half a box for the blue layer and one and a half boxes for the red layers. I expected to trim quite a bit to achieve even layers. It was more of a challenge than I thought it would be. Used regular liquid food color. Went to the store to buy more, because you need A LOT to get just the right colors. The batter was several un-Godly colors, until I reached the shades of red and blue that I wanted. Reynolds parchment paper kept the cakes from sticking. I would make this cake again, and I love the idea of serving it with lighted sparklers. What a fun and festive holiday dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Absolute best show-stopping cake I have ever served! My guests were so impressed that they didn't want to cut into it- but they did and the taste was superb! Moist, colorful and just extraordinary for a patriotic holiday. If there is any down-side, it is the amount of time to prepare since you must not only make the 4 cake layers but also cut and mold and frost in-between various shapes and decorate the top... but it was ALL worth it. Serve it and they will never want anything else again, guaranteed. I used another recipe from this site, Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting, and it was perfect for binding everything in place, not overpowering the cake and also providing a cool touch for those summer-time barbeques. Just be sure you have the CLEAR vanilla extract- the other will turn the cake yellow and ruin the presentation. Did I mention I LOVE this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katkohr
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this for my little guy's 2nd birthday. He was born on July 1st, so we had a red white and blue themed party this year. Cake turned out beautifully! I used the Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting recipe, as suggested by several other people on this site. Yummy! Everyone was very impressed, so it was well worth the time and effort! (Did I mention that I had to make 2 of these for the party? )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandi
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This took a lot of work and patience, but it was worth it! The cake tasted moist and delicious, and it looked amazing. Cakes needed more than 30 minutes to bake, and they were put in the freezer to help them cool faster to save time. They were still fragile after they completely cooled, though. But I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
What an awesome recipe! And so easy to make with the detailed instructions and video. My 15 year old made this cake for a party. All of the teens were shocked that she was able to make such a fancy cake. -Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
A lot of work - but the end result is worth it. I am terrible at trying to divide a lot of batter equally into cake pans, so I measured - mixing the ingredients exactly as the recipe states gives approximately 12 cups of batter - 6 cups of red and 3 each of white and blue. I used store bought frosting - wasn't sure how much I would need (10 cups seemed like a lot!). I ended up using 3 tubs of store bought. I crumbled the extra cakes and used them to decorate the top as the video shows - it turned out very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is NOT an easy cake, but WOW the end result was AMAZING. A few words of advice: I skipped the white chocolate chips after watching the video, they didn't have the desired effect for me. Clear vanilla extract is hard to find, so I substituted a little almond extract and a little orange extract...clear extracts that I had on hand. The cake was still fantastic, and I actually enjoyed the little orange touch. I was so surprised at how much food coloring I needed...much more than the recipe called for. I was lucky and had some on hand but make sure you buy more than you think you'd have to. I found that when cutting the cake, it was best to use some sort of guide to balance the knife on. It was far too easy to go off course. Store bought frosting was overly sweet and hard to spread when I made the cake the first time, so I decided to make whipped cream and frost the cake with that instead. Not only was it delicious and not too sweet, it was also easy to spread and sturdy. I found it more dramatic not to do anything with the outside of the cake. It makes it more exciting when you cut into it! Finally, when you're done with the cake, store it somewhere safe using toothpicks as needed...the cake is prone to cracking and crumbling and parts of it can even crumble off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

How to Make an American Flag Cake

It's the perfect cake for the Fourth of July.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States