American Flag Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by katkohr
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this for my little guy's 2nd birthday. He was born on July 1st, so we had a red white and blue themed party this year. Cake turned out beautifully! I used the Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting recipe, as suggested by several other people on this site. Yummy! Everyone was very impressed, so it was well worth the time and effort! (Did I mention that I had to make 2 of these for the party? )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Bought three 16 ounce boxes of Duncan Hines moist white cake mix. The "six" on the package looks like a zero, and I could not find a 10.5 ounce box. Anyway, I used one box for the white layers, half a box for the blue layer and one and a half boxes for the red layers. I expected to trim quite a bit to achieve even layers. It was more of a challenge than I thought it would be. Used regular liquid food color. Went to the store to buy more, because you need A LOT to get just the right colors. The batter was several un-Godly colors, until I reached the shades of red and blue that I wanted. Reynolds parchment paper kept the cakes from sticking. I would make this cake again, and I love the idea of serving it with lighted sparklers. What a fun and festive holiday dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by cocobabbs
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved making this cake! It took quite a long time and a lot of patience, but everyone's reaction to the cake was worth it. Definitely will try making it again next year. Should probably skip the white chocolate chips as they all sank to the bottom of the cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
What an awesome recipe! And so easy to make with the detailed instructions and video. My 15 year old made this cake for a party. All of the teens were shocked that she was able to make such a fancy cake. -Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
A lot of work - but the end result is worth it. I am terrible at trying to divide a lot of batter equally into cake pans, so I measured - mixing the ingredients exactly as the recipe states gives approximately 12 cups of batter - 6 cups of red and 3 each of white and blue. I used store bought frosting - wasn't sure how much I would need (10 cups seemed like a lot!). I ended up using 3 tubs of store bought. I crumbled the extra cakes and used them to decorate the top as the video shows - it turned out very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I followed the directions and had the cakes baked, cooled and cut, but when I tried to assemble it, everything went to hell. First, trying to ice a red cake with white icing is impossible. The icing picked up red crumbs when I tried to spread it and the whole thing looked like a muddled mess. Next, when trying to add subsequent layers, they broke and cracked and fell to pieces. The blue layer just sort of sagged around the edges and as a result, ended up breaking and sliding off down the various sides of the cake. Next time, I'll buy a cake and spend my money on alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimbaLouise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandi
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This took a lot of work and patience, but it was worth it! The cake tasted moist and delicious, and it looked amazing. Cakes needed more than 30 minutes to bake, and they were put in the freezer to help them cool faster to save time. They were still fragile after they completely cooled, though. But I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is NOT an easy cake, but WOW the end result was AMAZING. A few words of advice: I skipped the white chocolate chips after watching the video, they didn't have the desired effect for me. Clear vanilla extract is hard to find, so I substituted a little almond extract and a little orange extract...clear extracts that I had on hand. The cake was still fantastic, and I actually enjoyed the little orange touch. I was so surprised at how much food coloring I needed...much more than the recipe called for. I was lucky and had some on hand but make sure you buy more than you think you'd have to. I found that when cutting the cake, it was best to use some sort of guide to balance the knife on. It was far too easy to go off course. Store bought frosting was overly sweet and hard to spread when I made the cake the first time, so I decided to make whipped cream and frost the cake with that instead. Not only was it delicious and not too sweet, it was also easy to spread and sturdy. I found it more dramatic not to do anything with the outside of the cake. It makes it more exciting when you cut into it! Finally, when you're done with the cake, store it somewhere safe using toothpicks as needed...the cake is prone to cracking and crumbling and parts of it can even crumble off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
The first item of the ingredient list: 3 (10.25 ounce) packages white cake mix was confusing to me. There are NO 10.25 ounce packages of cake mix in the supermarket, so I measured out 3 x 10.25 ounces of cake mix. Had I reviewed the back of the packages, I would have realized that the 10.25 ounce notation was incorrect. It should read 16.25 ounce. The liquid measurements agreed with the use of the 3 16.25 ounce cake mixes. As a result, lots of crumbling, falling, and mess. The finished cake looked awful as a whole, but cut into beautiful layers. Next time, I will use ALL the cake mixes and not fixate on the weight of the flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by H.Carl
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I skipped the white cake and did all red, the cream cheese frosting acts as the white stripe, I think it looks much better this way. The stars didn't come out for me, next time I'll use pine nuts or something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.Carl

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

How to Make an American Flag Cake

It's the perfect cake for the Fourth of July.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States