American Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This review shows up for the original recipe and my custom version, but applies only to the original. Growing up, I remember my Dad often made American Chop Suey for lunch with a salad; it was made with elbow macaroni. When I chose this recipe I had only skimmed it very briefly- I had already started cooking the macaroni and had my veggies diced when I took a closer look and saw that the only pasta it calls for...comes from a can??? Like Franco-Americo or Chef Boyardee? I had to tweak the recipe from there but the results were just like Dad used to make! Thanks for the trip down memory lane and the inspiration to recreate my Dad's recipe. See what I ended up doing on my Custom Recipe: on the bottom of the recipe page, click the "Custom Verstions" tab for Lacky's American Chop Suey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Not bad for something quick...however if you have the time, I'd stick with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I made my own tomato sauce with canned crushed tomatoes, stewed tomatoes, cooked onion,green pepper & celery sauteed in a little olive oil. I also add some Italian seasoning to the sauce. I use extra-lean ground sirloin. I get the curly noodles from Trader Joe's. Easy, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is really not a good recipe. I'd rather make up an extra casserole of some kind, using fresh ingredients or at least something not so processed, even a spaghetti casserole and have it in the freezer for those busy times when cooking a meal is just about impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
My two year old devoured this! He wanted seconds, and he NEVER does seconds. I followed the recipe except I used Beefaroni cans. I cooked it on the stovetop. Very quick, very easy and tastey! Thank you for a quick fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
turned out pretty good, i cooked ingredients and then put in the crockpot, also used beefaroni cans instead of spaghetti, overall fam liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Excellent, easy recipe - I had to add more sauce due to my families likes but otherwise this is a definite 5 star winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Wonderful recipe!! VERY good, VERY easy to make, and VERY quick. This is one of the first meals I've ever cooked, so if I can do this, anyone can! I cant think of how it could get better. I highly recommended it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States