American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I have been making a dish very similar to this and my family loves it. I use 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef, add a bit of minced onion, celery and green peper while cooking the beef and then you add 1 can of tomato soup and a small can of tomato paste. The best ingredient I add is small chopped pepperoni bits! It really adds a good flavor and kick to this recipe. I add the cooked elbows to the ground beef mixture,cover with your choice of cheese and bake for 1/2 hour at 350. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Wow! I can't believe I came across this recipe- I was searching for the standard Chinese-American chop suey! I've never heard this called American Chop Suey before- we've always called it Goulash in our house. My mom has always made this & now I make it for my family. The only thing we do differently would be to sprinkle the top with parmesan cheese (grated or shredded- what ever you have, they are both good) & bake it at 350° for about 30 minutes before serving. I've never had it unbaked so I'm assuming it helps the flavors meld more and it also gives it a bit of a nice crunchy top. It's also good with venison/deer burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I'm rating this 5 stars with the modifications I made. I only used 8 oz. (uncooked) of macaroni, used 1 can of tomato soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, added 2 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, and covered the mixture with slices of American cheese, which melted from the heat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Okay, this just wasn't very good. It was dry and bland. I even added extra seasonings and fresh garlic but unfortunatly it smelled better than it tasted. I think it might be better if I added more tomato soup or sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
was good, could see how it's a family pleaser. However, very bland. I suggest chili powder and seasoned salt. lots of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
We had this tonight for supper, so as a family we took a vote and rated it. My kids didn't care for the sweet taste, but thought it was ok. My husband likes my sauce better in it. (they are spoiled with everything that I make is homemade) It was worth a shot and thanks for sharing a family recipe! It was quick, easy, and filled everyones bellies but did not care for the sweet after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I liked this a lot...it was simple and tasty. However, I had to add another can of tomato soup as there wasn't nearly enough with just 2 cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Super easy and good too! Reminds me of the goulosh my dad made for us kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Wow, this turned out great! I was a little leery about using tomato soup, but was pleasantly suprised! Will absolutely make again (and again)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This is a great recipe to build off of, according to your tastes. I only used half of the macaroni called for, and that was plenty for us. I also used tomato sauce (didn't have tomato soup), added a can of chopped up stewed tomatoes, and a chopped green pepper. It was a big hit for us. Good dish to make on nights when you don't know when everyone will be home, because it can just sit in a covered pot over a very low heat without ruining it. And, leftovers the next day taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States