American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Tasty, simple, fast, fun to mess around with - love it! My version ended up with a chili/Mex slant to it. Used rotini instead of mac. Added A1 steak sauce to the meat as it was cooking. I know - weird, but I like it. Also threw in some chili beans. Worried that the dish would still be a little bland, so I added cumin, cayenne, and chili powders to the pot *after* combining the primary ingredients. Then, topped it with jack cheese, put a cover on and let all that cheese melt into the twists and turns of the rotini. Washed it down with some Dos Equis. Great meal~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyhan Sung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
We grew up eating this too..its a kid favorite and the adults love it! We never included the onions because of picky eaters but the adults would sprinkle with Nature's Seasons brand seasoning. Quick, easy and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
just like from my childhood...this was great and really so easy, adding it to our regular repitoire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is a good base. I made this last night and added a touch of garlic and onion powder along with salt and pepper. Unlike some of the other posts though, I would avoid adding too many other spices, otherwise you end up with classic italian meatsauce. To me American Chop Suey is meant to be simple, not bland but not overly spiced either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I read quite a few reviews, and when I made this tonight I used ground venison, added two cloves of garlic, the pepperoni, and used a can of Pastene Kitchen Ready tomatoes. I also added fresh basil, parsley and some dry oregano. After that, I put everything together and put it in the oven at 350 degree for 30 minutes. I learned that if using Kitchen Ready tomatoes, you must increase your salt to your recipe. But other than that, this meal will just get better with time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe! Great for leftovers for lunch during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very dry. No flavor. I even tried adding some garlic. Didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I read the previous reviews and tweaked the recipe a bit, and it turned out fabulous! I added green pepper to the beef and onion. I also added roasted garlic and cumin. I added 1 1/2 cans of tomato soup and 1 can of tomato paste. I did use the whole box of elbows, but did not find it too dry. I covered it with slices of american cheese and shredded parmesean and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. I'll definitely be making this again. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a recipe that I have been trying to find. This is exactly how my mother used to make it and I really love it. Follow the no fail directions and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sanborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I make this dish often, but to spice it up a bit, I add chopped green bell pepper in with the onions while I brown the meat. I also add a can of drained black olives. I pour half the mixture in the casserole dish, layer with provolone cheese and add the second half to cover. I top it with American Cheese slices the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States