American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I grew up with this stuff and now we jazz it up somewhat but the basics are there. We add pepper strips, mushrooms, fresh or canned tomatoes, garlic, etc. As someone said, it's a great starter. Play with it. And be sure to add freshly grated Parmesan and broil, it makes a yummy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
My grandmother used to make this & my husband made fun of me when I told him it was called "American Chop Suey". I am delighted to see it on this website. This recipe is the exact one my mom used to use and I loved it as a kid! However, as an adult I have tweeked it some using Worcheshire sauce, chopped green pepper and It. seasonings while the meat is cooking. Makes for a much more palatable dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I liked it, but I was alone in my appreciation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Tasty, simple, fast, fun to mess around with - love it! My version ended up with a chili/Mex slant to it. Used rotini instead of mac. Added A1 steak sauce to the meat as it was cooking. I know - weird, but I like it. Also threw in some chili beans. Worried that the dish would still be a little bland, so I added cumin, cayenne, and chili powders to the pot *after* combining the primary ingredients. Then, topped it with jack cheese, put a cover on and let all that cheese melt into the twists and turns of the rotini. Washed it down with some Dos Equis. Great meal~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomia32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
We grew up eating this too..its a kid favorite and the adults love it! We never included the onions because of picky eaters but the adults would sprinkle with Nature's Seasons brand seasoning. Quick, easy and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
just like from my childhood...this was great and really so easy, adding it to our regular repitoire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is a good base. I made this last night and added a touch of garlic and onion powder along with salt and pepper. Unlike some of the other posts though, I would avoid adding too many other spices, otherwise you end up with classic italian meatsauce. To me American Chop Suey is meant to be simple, not bland but not overly spiced either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I read quite a few reviews, and when I made this tonight I used ground venison, added two cloves of garlic, the pepperoni, and used a can of Pastene Kitchen Ready tomatoes. I also added fresh basil, parsley and some dry oregano. After that, I put everything together and put it in the oven at 350 degree for 30 minutes. I learned that if using Kitchen Ready tomatoes, you must increase your salt to your recipe. But other than that, this meal will just get better with time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe! Great for leftovers for lunch during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very dry. No flavor. I even tried adding some garlic. Didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States