American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this tonight for a quick dinner for my family. I remember growing up eating American Chop Suey! My daughter loves it when they serve it for school lunch so I thought I would make it. It turned out great! I did change/add ingredients according to my parent's recipe as well as the tastes of my girls. I used three cans of Healthy Request Campbell's soup, ground turkey instead of ground beef, added 3/4 c. of water or broth, and while browning the ground turkey, I threw in 3/4 c. frozen chopped bagged onion and 3/4 c. frozen bagged chopped green pepper (much faster!) I also put a few dashes of cayenne pepper and garlic powder to spice it up just a bit. Came out great; my family loved it. I will definitely make again!! Thank you April for submitting this recipe! Topping with alittle parmesan cheese was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I add a can of diced tomatoes and a little tomato juice to this every time I make it. I serve this with grated parmesan cheese & have occasionally tossed in some frozen corn. Quick & simple comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
very good but i agree about being bland...added garlic powder, cajun seasoning, hot sauce, and lots of pepper. Next time I will add green pepper but we enjoyed it and my 18month old daughter loved it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is a great, quick recipe. I add some type of chopped tomatoes with the tomato soup (using marinara sauce makes it more like spaghetti sauce). I also add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is an old family favorite of mine only we use tomato sauce instead of soup. Leftovers are great cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Awesome meal. I would probably add a little add about a 1/2 lb. more meat the next time but still an awsome meal. Quick and recession friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Add worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, and some onion powder and this a great recipe! Always a family favorite here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was surprisingly good! I used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I'm giving this 3 stars only because it was just too bland. I not only did it all to the ltr (except for using crush tom instead of tom soup) but I added garlic so you'd think it would at least be as flavorful as the reviewers. I'll try again sometime. It was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I grew up with this stuff and now we jazz it up somewhat but the basics are there. We add pepper strips, mushrooms, fresh or canned tomatoes, garlic, etc. As someone said, it's a great starter. Play with it. And be sure to add freshly grated Parmesan and broil, it makes a yummy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States