American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I stumbled across this recipe one day and had a nice chuckle. My brother and I grew up eating this, it was published in a ladies magazine back in the 60s.(oops, did I just date myself, oh well) I've been making this for many years as it is a great comfort food. I use half the amount of macaroni and sub 1 can of soup with 1 can of tomato sauce to dilute that tomato soupy taste. Some times I add basil or Italian Seasoning, sometimes use garlic all depending on my mood that day. Always serve it with grated Parmesan cheese tho, it's a must. The leftovers are always better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
A friend gave me this recipe nearly 30 years ago - but she called it 'Goulash' ! It's pretty plain without added seasonings - make it Mexican one night with chili powder, oregano and cumin, maybe, or use Italian herbs. But young children like it plain, whatever you call it! So does my husband, served with plain white bread. I still make it for him, but vary the seasonings as inspiration strikes. Very basic acaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Being new to this site, I'm glad I discovered the reviews! Like some others I used marinara sauce instead of the tomato soup. My twin toddlers loved this and anything that makes them happy makes dear old dad even happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calabash, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is very much like Hamburger Helper. As it was easy enough for my DH to make, quick, and cheap we did have to dress it up with some spices and it still wasn't much to write home about. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Very good...the tomato soup makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
To this I have always added one can of stewed tomatoes and red and green peppers with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
An easy and delicious recipe, I used 1 can of tomato soup, 1 can of diced tomatoes, chopped celery, and minced garlic, will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Have been making this for years.Will never be bland if you brown green peppers wth onions. Season wth salt/pepper and garlic pwdr. Use Marinara Sc. instead of tomato soup. Add diced fresh tomato's. I top it with cheddar cheese when serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this tonight for a quick dinner for my family. I remember growing up eating American Chop Suey! My daughter loves it when they serve it for school lunch so I thought I would make it. It turned out great! I did change/add ingredients according to my parent's recipe as well as the tastes of my girls. I used three cans of Healthy Request Campbell's soup, ground turkey instead of ground beef, added 3/4 c. of water or broth, and while browning the ground turkey, I threw in 3/4 c. frozen chopped bagged onion and 3/4 c. frozen bagged chopped green pepper (much faster!) I also put a few dashes of cayenne pepper and garlic powder to spice it up just a bit. Came out great; my family loved it. I will definitely make again!! Thank you April for submitting this recipe! Topping with alittle parmesan cheese was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I add a can of diced tomatoes and a little tomato juice to this every time I make it. I serve this with grated parmesan cheese & have occasionally tossed in some frozen corn. Quick & simple comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States