American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by janaflower
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was pretty good. For me it was WAY too much macaroni though, so I think I would halve that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is the stuff I grew up on! My mom would cook a couple of strips of bacon before cooking the beef. Gives it a nice flavor. When I make it I use one can of tomato soup and one can of stewed tomatoes to give it a more tomatoey flavor. A can of tomato sauce can be added if it's dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a good base recipe. We have Chop Suey at least once or twice a month. I add 1 can tomato soup, 1 15 ounce can of stewed tomatoes with garlic basil and oregano. When combining I stir everything together and layer in a casserole dish. Noodle mixture and American sliced cheese. On top I end with cheese and bake in oven just long enough to heat through and melt the cheese. Serve with bread and butter! Loved by all and usually none left over. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
really good. I used a little less onion and added some italian seasoning, minced garlic, and thai chili sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Just add some chicken broth or even water and you have yourself Hangover Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I stumbled across this recipe one day and had a nice chuckle. My brother and I grew up eating this, it was published in a ladies magazine back in the 60s.(oops, did I just date myself, oh well) I've been making this for many years as it is a great comfort food. I use half the amount of macaroni and sub 1 can of soup with 1 can of tomato sauce to dilute that tomato soupy taste. Some times I add basil or Italian Seasoning, sometimes use garlic all depending on my mood that day. Always serve it with grated Parmesan cheese tho, it's a must. The leftovers are always better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
A friend gave me this recipe nearly 30 years ago - but she called it 'Goulash' ! It's pretty plain without added seasonings - make it Mexican one night with chili powder, oregano and cumin, maybe, or use Italian herbs. But young children like it plain, whatever you call it! So does my husband, served with plain white bread. I still make it for him, but vary the seasonings as inspiration strikes. Very basic acaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Being new to this site, I'm glad I discovered the reviews! Like some others I used marinara sauce instead of the tomato soup. My twin toddlers loved this and anything that makes them happy makes dear old dad even happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calabash, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is very much like Hamburger Helper. As it was easy enough for my DH to make, quick, and cheap we did have to dress it up with some spices and it still wasn't much to write home about. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Very good...the tomato soup makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States