American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I think the younger generation... just doesn't "GET IT!" This is a mid-century recipe from a simpler time, that sooooo many seniors grew up eating (and loved as kids, I might add). It is what it is! You want to add greem pepper, mushrooms, a sprinkle of cheese; I can understand that. BUT... when people completely change the recipe by using marinara sauce, tomato sauce, stewed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, Italian or Mexican spices; it's just NOT the same recipe! And aren't we all getting a bit tired of the BUZZ word "BLAND", it's so freely used to describe so many recipes on this site. PLEASE... like it or not; rate the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Simple and good dish. Very filling! I like that there are just a few everyday ingredients and that it is quick and easy. Sometimes simple is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Good basic recipe. Needed extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This turned out very well for me. I was exoecting a blah boring dish, but I was surprised at how tasty mine was. Of course I tweaked a wee bit so it was probably a result of my adjustments that made a difference. First of all, I used dried minced onion about 2 T and 1/2 tsp onion powder instead of using fresh. 1 onion is a whole lot, so I wouldn't recommend using THAT much unless you really love the flavor. I also seasoned the meat with a sprinkle of garlic salt and some Season All and a few grinds of black pepper. I used lean beef so it did not require draining. After the beef browned I tossed the dry pasta right in with a little olive oil and sauteed it first for a few minutes before adding the soup and then I started with about 2 cups of chicken broth and simmered the whole thing until the noodles were done. I added a bit more broth as needed while it simmered. I really loved the end result and it turned out rich and tomatoey and had a nice sauce. I don't think by following the original though and skipping the simmer, you won't get the same end result I did. My result was a 4 star dish, but I want to rate this as it is written, so I am only going to give it a 3 to be fair and not try to mislead people whose dish doesn't turn out quite like mine. Thanks for the great base recipe, I had fun tweaking and turning it into my own yummy creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This did not go over well. It almost tasted like baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Fast and easy and OOOOh so yummy. My family liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good starting recipe but it was BLAND. I'm Hispanic and need my food to have flavor! Add chopped peppers, garlic, Adobo or Italian seasoning (or both), mozzarella cheese and Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
There are so many versions of American Chop Suey but when I'm in the mood for it this recipe is the flavor I want. It's what I grew up with. The only other must have additions is diced green pepper and Parmesan cheese. For the tomato soup, it has to be Campbells brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made a version of this that turned out very well. I used 1 pound of not to lean ground beef 80%-20% and cooked it with the onion. I added a couple of squirts of Lea & Pearins, and a pinch or 2 of chili powder. For the sauce I just used one can of Manwich. It came out great. I will make it again, but next time I will add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I substitute a can (14 oz) of diced tomatos for one can of soup. I've used this recipe for years. Only gets better as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States