American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I liked this a lot...it was simple and tasty. However, I had to add another can of tomato soup as there wasn't nearly enough with just 2 cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Super easy and good too! Reminds me of the goulosh my dad made for us kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Wow, this turned out great! I was a little leery about using tomato soup, but was pleasantly suprised! Will absolutely make again (and again)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This is a great recipe to build off of, according to your tastes. I only used half of the macaroni called for, and that was plenty for us. I also used tomato sauce (didn't have tomato soup), added a can of chopped up stewed tomatoes, and a chopped green pepper. It was a big hit for us. Good dish to make on nights when you don't know when everyone will be home, because it can just sit in a covered pot over a very low heat without ruining it. And, leftovers the next day taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I did the same as others and used this as a jumping off point. I used 1 can tomato soup, 1 can sauce and one can diced tomatos. Also added cheddar and mozz. cheese and some spices. 3 1/2 yr old son ate it constant for two days, would eat nothing else until it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Added mushrooms, bell peppers, and cheddar cheese. The entire family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Very good!!! Made enough to have leftovers today. My family of picky eaters loved it. I didnt change anything because it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Rank this one right up there with other quick and easy to prepare, yet tasty dishes. I thought this might be similar to a staple dish my mom used to make when I was a kid. Turns out, she must have used tomato soup, because the taste is quite similar. I can't wait to ask her. I knew it wasn't straight tomato sauce or spaghetti sauce, but who would have thought it was tomato soup? Awesome and so easy! Here's an update, since I prepared this again yesterday: First, it wasn't tomato soup my mom used when I was a kid. I ask her about it the other day; she used tomato paste! Interesting. Anyway, this time I added a four ounce can of mushrooms and one can of Rotel Diced Tomatoes and Chili Peppers, Extra Hot. WOW. Talk about "kickin' it up a notch!" My wife and I both loved it. It made the dish hover in the space between "spicy hot, but not too spicy hot." Believe it or not, restaurant quality. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
haven't heard of "american chop suey" in years. my mom used to make a super easy version. she used canned franco american spaghetti in tomato sauce instead of the uncooked pasta and soup. as kids, we all adored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe and this was the first one on the list. Funny thing is that my family has been making this same exact recipe as long as I can remember. The only difference is we finish it off with something called Nature's Seasoning. I can be found in the spice isle at the grocery store. It is my daughter's absolute favorite and anyone I have made it for loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States