American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Great recipe to build on! Tried this tonight, and the family loved it! I tweaked it a bit, after reading the reviews...used slightly less pasta, added some garlic, italian seasoning, a teaspoon of beef bouillion, and a 4oz jar of mushrooms...and it made a big batch, enough for dinner and the leftovers will make a couple of hearty lunches! Thanks for posting April, great recipe! Edited to add: I've made this multiple times since my first review, and I now use 3 cans of tomato soup...and I thin it a bit with about a 1/4 cup of water...2 cans of soup is not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I make "American Chop Suey" a couple of times each month using one 28oz can of crushed tomato with puree instead of soup. Now that we're all adults at home, I add a bit of cayenne and lots of fresh ground black pepper. With a green salad and fruited jello for dessert: a classic diner supper. [[I've always thought the recipe name is a New England one; may be different elsewhere]]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Boring to say the least. Use marinara sauce instead of tomato soup, add some seasonings, mix in and sprinkle the top with a shredded cheese of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
My family adds chili powder to taste (gets rid of the blandness) brown sugar and brown gravy mix. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is my great-grandma's goolash recipe :) She lived through the depression so I have lots of these easy, Campbells soup recipes from that time, and remember how often her and my mother made these meals when I was little. It's wonderful, cheap and easy. You cannot sub the soup for marinara sauce, it is NOT the same thing. * Also, you kind of have to appreciate this meal for what it is, a basic and cheap, depression era meal that serves a big family for pennies, this is not a gourmet meal. If that is what you are looking for please spare this a bad review and look for something else.* I usually season my meat with season salt, pepper and garlic, maybe some other stuff if feeling fancy but that will do. Sometimes add a can of diced tomatoes or peppers as well. I usually save just a little of the tomato soup for the leftovers, as they tend to get a little dry, so I save just a little to spread on top before sticking in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I used 4oz macaroni and 1 can tomato soup for my husband and I. It was very good. I have been making something very similar to this for years that we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This recipe is so super simple and great as a last minute dinner meal! I added mushrooms and garlic. Hubby loved it! I used different kinds of pasta, liked it best with rotini. Will definitely make over and add other recommended items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I think the younger generation... just doesn't "GET IT!" This is a mid-century recipe from a simpler time, that sooooo many seniors grew up eating (and loved as kids, I might add). It is what it is! You want to add greem pepper, mushrooms, a sprinkle of cheese; I can understand that. BUT... when people completely change the recipe by using marinara sauce, tomato sauce, stewed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, Italian or Mexican spices; it's just NOT the same recipe! And aren't we all getting a bit tired of the BUZZ word "BLAND", it's so freely used to describe so many recipes on this site. PLEASE... like it or not; rate the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This should of been called hamburger helper. It was really bland. I added a cup of cheddar cheese and a little sour cream. After that my husband was able to eat it. I don't think ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jadedhawk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Not only did my children ages 2 & 4 eat it all, but asked me to make it again! That = 5 stars in my book! *I also added left over veggies that were not noticed! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States