American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I wasn't a huge fan it was okay just reminded me too much of hamburger helper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
OK. First you need to chop 6 strips of bacon into 1/2" pieces and brown that with the onion. Remove and discard the onion as it becomes brown. Do not drain. Brown the ground beef in the same skillet, then drain well. Proceed as directed in the recipe but reduce the macaroni by 1/2. i guarantee the addition of bacon will make this recipe a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was very good. I was worried about using tomato soup (I have always used sauce in the past) but it was tasty. The only thing I added was to place the mixture in a glass pan and cover it with american cheese slices. I put it in the oven and baked until until the cheese melted. (This was what my grandmother always did)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Great comfort food. I double the onion, add a few sprinkles cumin, combine all ingredients, add 1 cup sharp cheddar, bake at 350 for 30 minutes in a casserole dish covered in foil. Remove foil and sprinke the top with shredded cheddar and put back in the oven until cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I too grew up on this dish. We always called it "goulash". My mother always added canned tomatoes (omit the soup) and peas to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I have been making a dish very similar to this and my family loves it. I use 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef, add a bit of minced onion, celery and green peper while cooking the beef and then you add 1 can of tomato soup and a small can of tomato paste. The best ingredient I add is small chopped pepperoni bits! It really adds a good flavor and kick to this recipe. I add the cooked elbows to the ground beef mixture,cover with your choice of cheese and bake for 1/2 hour at 350. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Wow! I can't believe I came across this recipe- I was searching for the standard Chinese-American chop suey! I've never heard this called American Chop Suey before- we've always called it Goulash in our house. My mom has always made this & now I make it for my family. The only thing we do differently would be to sprinkle the top with parmesan cheese (grated or shredded- what ever you have, they are both good) & bake it at 350° for about 30 minutes before serving. I've never had it unbaked so I'm assuming it helps the flavors meld more and it also gives it a bit of a nice crunchy top. It's also good with venison/deer burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I'm rating this 5 stars with the modifications I made. I only used 8 oz. (uncooked) of macaroni, used 1 can of tomato soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, added 2 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, and covered the mixture with slices of American cheese, which melted from the heat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Okay, this just wasn't very good. It was dry and bland. I even added extra seasonings and fresh garlic but unfortunatly it smelled better than it tasted. I think it might be better if I added more tomato soup or sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
was good, could see how it's a family pleaser. However, very bland. I suggest chili powder and seasoned salt. lots of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Barker
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States