American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I read quite a few reviews, and when I made this tonight I used ground venison, added two cloves of garlic, the pepperoni, and used a can of Pastene Kitchen Ready tomatoes. I also added fresh basil, parsley and some dry oregano. After that, I put everything together and put it in the oven at 350 degree for 30 minutes. I learned that if using Kitchen Ready tomatoes, you must increase your salt to your recipe. But other than that, this meal will just get better with time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe! Great for leftovers for lunch during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very dry. No flavor. I even tried adding some garlic. Didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I read the previous reviews and tweaked the recipe a bit, and it turned out fabulous! I added green pepper to the beef and onion. I also added roasted garlic and cumin. I added 1 1/2 cans of tomato soup and 1 can of tomato paste. I did use the whole box of elbows, but did not find it too dry. I covered it with slices of american cheese and shredded parmesean and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. I'll definitely be making this again. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a recipe that I have been trying to find. This is exactly how my mother used to make it and I really love it. Follow the no fail directions and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I make this dish often, but to spice it up a bit, I add chopped green bell pepper in with the onions while I brown the meat. I also add a can of drained black olives. I pour half the mixture in the casserole dish, layer with provolone cheese and add the second half to cover. I top it with American Cheese slices the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I wasn't a huge fan it was okay just reminded me too much of hamburger helper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
OK. First you need to chop 6 strips of bacon into 1/2" pieces and brown that with the onion. Remove and discard the onion as it becomes brown. Do not drain. Brown the ground beef in the same skillet, then drain well. Proceed as directed in the recipe but reduce the macaroni by 1/2. i guarantee the addition of bacon will make this recipe a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was very good. I was worried about using tomato soup (I have always used sauce in the past) but it was tasty. The only thing I added was to place the mixture in a glass pan and cover it with american cheese slices. I put it in the oven and baked until until the cheese melted. (This was what my grandmother always did)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Great comfort food. I double the onion, add a few sprinkles cumin, combine all ingredients, add 1 cup sharp cheddar, bake at 350 for 30 minutes in a casserole dish covered in foil. Remove foil and sprinke the top with shredded cheddar and put back in the oven until cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States