American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
very good but i agree about being bland...added garlic powder, cajun seasoning, hot sauce, and lots of pepper. Next time I will add green pepper but we enjoyed it and my 18month old daughter loved it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is a great, quick recipe. I add some type of chopped tomatoes with the tomato soup (using marinara sauce makes it more like spaghetti sauce). I also add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is an old family favorite of mine only we use tomato sauce instead of soup. Leftovers are great cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Awesome meal. I would probably add a little add about a 1/2 lb. more meat the next time but still an awsome meal. Quick and recession friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Add worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, and some onion powder and this a great recipe! Always a family favorite here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was surprisingly good! I used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I'm giving this 3 stars only because it was just too bland. I not only did it all to the ltr (except for using crush tom instead of tom soup) but I added garlic so you'd think it would at least be as flavorful as the reviewers. I'll try again sometime. It was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I grew up with this stuff and now we jazz it up somewhat but the basics are there. We add pepper strips, mushrooms, fresh or canned tomatoes, garlic, etc. As someone said, it's a great starter. Play with it. And be sure to add freshly grated Parmesan and broil, it makes a yummy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
My grandmother used to make this & my husband made fun of me when I told him it was called "American Chop Suey". I am delighted to see it on this website. This recipe is the exact one my mom used to use and I loved it as a kid! However, as an adult I have tweeked it some using Worcheshire sauce, chopped green pepper and It. seasonings while the meat is cooking. Makes for a much more palatable dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I liked it, but I was alone in my appreciation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States