American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by RevConrad
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Thouroughly enjoyed it. I used ground turkey and added garlic powder and oregeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is my great-grandma's goolash recipe :) She lived through the depression so I have lots of these easy, Campbells soup recipes from that time, and remember how often her and my mother made these meals when I was little. It's wonderful, cheap and easy. You cannot sub the soup for marinara sauce, it is NOT the same thing. * Also, you kind of have to appreciate this meal for what it is, a basic and cheap, depression era meal that serves a big family for pennies, this is not a gourmet meal. If that is what you are looking for please spare this a bad review and look for something else.* I usually season my meat with season salt, pepper and garlic, maybe some other stuff if feeling fancy but that will do. Sometimes add a can of diced tomatoes or peppers as well. I usually save just a little of the tomato soup for the leftovers, as they tend to get a little dry, so I save just a little to spread on top before sticking in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I added chili pepper and mushrooms (like another reviewer mentioned) and upped the number of cans of tomato soup to 3. Also, I wanted to bake the dish, so I sprinkled a bread crumb and cheese mixture on top and baked it for 20-25 mins at 425 Fahrenheit with some foil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is how my mother has always made American Chop Suey. I make it several different ways, but it is really good with the tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janaflower
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was pretty good. For me it was WAY too much macaroni though, so I think I would halve that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is the stuff I grew up on! My mom would cook a couple of strips of bacon before cooking the beef. Gives it a nice flavor. When I make it I use one can of tomato soup and one can of stewed tomatoes to give it a more tomatoey flavor. A can of tomato sauce can be added if it's dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a good base recipe. We have Chop Suey at least once or twice a month. I add 1 can tomato soup, 1 15 ounce can of stewed tomatoes with garlic basil and oregano. When combining I stir everything together and layer in a casserole dish. Noodle mixture and American sliced cheese. On top I end with cheese and bake in oven just long enough to heat through and melt the cheese. Serve with bread and butter! Loved by all and usually none left over. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
really good. I used a little less onion and added some italian seasoning, minced garlic, and thai chili sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Just add some chicken broth or even water and you have yourself Hangover Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I stumbled across this recipe one day and had a nice chuckle. My brother and I grew up eating this, it was published in a ladies magazine back in the 60s.(oops, did I just date myself, oh well) I've been making this for many years as it is a great comfort food. I use half the amount of macaroni and sub 1 can of soup with 1 can of tomato sauce to dilute that tomato soupy taste. Some times I add basil or Italian Seasoning, sometimes use garlic all depending on my mood that day. Always serve it with grated Parmesan cheese tho, it's a must. The leftovers are always better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States