American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm sorry, but this was not good at all, and it was entirely due to the sauce (soup). It would have been much, much better if we subbed a high-quality tomato sauce in place of the soup. The soup just made it inedible, and I'm a pretty easy-to-please person. This is my only one-star rating on this site thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is very similar to a dish my grandparents always made, they called it Slumgullion. But instead of tomato soup they did tomato sauce and added cumin and chili powder. Definitely a family classic. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
For a SIMPLE make @ home/easy meal... this was good! GREAT with garlic bread on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I really enjoyed this! it was rather bland when i first tasted it,so i tweaked my seasonings added some chili powder and garlic powder, salt and pepper until i got the taste just right, very tasty, quick comfort meal!! I agree with another reviewer who said that this is not meant to be a gourmet meal, so for those who are complaining, you need to appreciate this for what it is, a basic meal, with simple flavours that is easily adjustable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
My mom used to make this all the time way back in the '60's, and I love it as much now as I did then. I add green peppers and sliced mushrooms to my adult version, as well as a sprinkle of garlic powder. I also use 1 can of soup and one can of diced tomatoes. Quick and easy stovetop casserole. Great for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this last night , so quick, so easy and so good with such basic ingredients. The family loved it. Perfect meal to make when you don't know what you want for dinner or if ya just don't want to be in the kitchen for long. If you liked cafeteria food from high school this reminds me of the mystery macaroni mix, just throw some american cheese slices on top a there ya have it. Try it, I know you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonfly22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemblesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by RevConrad
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Thouroughly enjoyed it. I used ground turkey and added garlic powder and oregeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is my great-grandma's goolash recipe :) She lived through the depression so I have lots of these easy, Campbells soup recipes from that time, and remember how often her and my mother made these meals when I was little. It's wonderful, cheap and easy. You cannot sub the soup for marinara sauce, it is NOT the same thing. * Also, you kind of have to appreciate this meal for what it is, a basic and cheap, depression era meal that serves a big family for pennies, this is not a gourmet meal. If that is what you are looking for please spare this a bad review and look for something else.* I usually season my meat with season salt, pepper and garlic, maybe some other stuff if feeling fancy but that will do. Sometimes add a can of diced tomatoes or peppers as well. I usually save just a little of the tomato soup for the leftovers, as they tend to get a little dry, so I save just a little to spread on top before sticking in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I added chili pepper and mushrooms (like another reviewer mentioned) and upped the number of cans of tomato soup to 3. Also, I wanted to bake the dish, so I sprinkled a bread crumb and cheese mixture on top and baked it for 20-25 mins at 425 Fahrenheit with some foil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is how my mother has always made American Chop Suey. I make it several different ways, but it is really good with the tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States