American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This turned out very well for me. I was exoecting a blah boring dish, but I was surprised at how tasty mine was. Of course I tweaked a wee bit so it was probably a result of my adjustments that made a difference. First of all, I used dried minced onion about 2 T and 1/2 tsp onion powder instead of using fresh. 1 onion is a whole lot, so I wouldn't recommend using THAT much unless you really love the flavor. I also seasoned the meat with a sprinkle of garlic salt and some Season All and a few grinds of black pepper. I used lean beef so it did not require draining. After the beef browned I tossed the dry pasta right in with a little olive oil and sauteed it first for a few minutes before adding the soup and then I started with about 2 cups of chicken broth and simmered the whole thing until the noodles were done. I added a bit more broth as needed while it simmered. I really loved the end result and it turned out rich and tomatoey and had a nice sauce. I don't think by following the original though and skipping the simmer, you won't get the same end result I did. My result was a 4 star dish, but I want to rate this as it is written, so I am only going to give it a 3 to be fair and not try to mislead people whose dish doesn't turn out quite like mine. Thanks for the great base recipe, I had fun tweaking and turning it into my own yummy creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This did not go over well. It almost tasted like baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Fast and easy and OOOOh so yummy. My family liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good starting recipe but it was BLAND. I'm Hispanic and need my food to have flavor! Add chopped peppers, garlic, Adobo or Italian seasoning (or both), mozzarella cheese and Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
There are so many versions of American Chop Suey but when I'm in the mood for it this recipe is the flavor I want. It's what I grew up with. The only other must have additions is diced green pepper and Parmesan cheese. For the tomato soup, it has to be Campbells brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made a version of this that turned out very well. I used 1 pound of not to lean ground beef 80%-20% and cooked it with the onion. I added a couple of squirts of Lea & Pearins, and a pinch or 2 of chili powder. For the sauce I just used one can of Manwich. It came out great. I will make it again, but next time I will add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I substitute a can (14 oz) of diced tomatos for one can of soup. I've used this recipe for years. Only gets better as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I am a 71yr old woman who grew up eating this dish, with however a couple of additions. This version is not for the "healthy minded', but ohhh so much flavor. If you can find it, buy, from your butcher, or sometimes your supermarkets carry it, but you would have to ask for it, a piece of ""suet"which is nothing more than a piece of "beef fat". Render this along with you onions, and GREEN PEPPERS, (this is the real flavor additive). Cook as recipe states, and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I followed the basic recipe but needed to add a few ingredients to make it interesting. After I added sauteed diced sweet bell pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and Italian seasoning, it was really tasty. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
this was a wonderful recipe! Although I made changes into the recipe..I used whole wheat elbow macaroni, can of low sodium peas and carrots, added italian sausage, used crushed can of tomatos and can of red pepper and fennel diced tomatos with tomato paste..I also used red onion, a red and yello pepper..To increase fiber and protein I added black eye peas. For extra flavor, I added tsp of each: cumin, red pepper flakes, garlic, and chili powder! my husband and I went for seconds, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States