American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was great I added a few things. I sauté a diced onion in a little EVOO and add a diced red bell and Green pepper to that a TBL of sugar and caramelize. I then brown ground beef and add a TBL of sugar to that and add together with two cans of diced tomatos cook over med heat for 10 minutes then add it to sauce pan with elbows and add a small jar of marinara sauce heat on low for 15 minute for flavors to sink in. The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Tasty, ...and as a lot of things, better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redlightz420

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Very quick and easy. I used about 1 1/2 cups of macaroni for mine. My boys loved it. I would definately make it again. I usually make goulash with diced tomatoes, and my youngest always makes me pick them out, but this he didn't complain about one bit. So I will use this recipe now instead of making it with canned tomatoes. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for us when we were kids. We loved it then and still do. The only thing different was she would fry up some bacon, crumble it, add to the pan as the last ingredient and let it simmer to incorporate the flavors. My husband loves it! I think if you use anything but Campbell's tomato soup you will not get the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I've made it a few times, it's a big hit with my family. I do a few things different, I add in a 14.5 ounce of diced tomatoes along with the tomato soup. As well as when I'm cooking the meat and onions together I add a few teaspoons of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is fast, easy, and satisfying. I used marinara sauce instead of the tomato soup which was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I grew up eating this recipe. My family called it slumgullian. Over the years we have also added to it. Changed the soup to marinara, added green peppers and garlic and mushrooms. Great memories from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I changed the recipe a little. I added diced red pepper (about 1/2 a pepper), diced onion (1/2 small onion), tablespoon or so of minced garlic. marinara sauce instead of soup, and about 1/2 cup of beef bouillon. I sauteed the onion, red pepper and garlic in butter. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was a good comfort food that brought me back to my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States