American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I thought this was a simple, but good recipe. I added crushed tomatoes (about 1/2 of a tomato) and sautéed it along with the meat and onions. For seasonings I put: Italian seasonings, beef bullion cube, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. I used only 2 cans of tomato soup, and added about 1/4 cup of water. I also didn't make the entire bag of macaroni. The consistency of the meat, noodles and sauce was spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falfurrias, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
If you grew up in the 80s and 90s and had goulash for lunch at school, then this recipe will take you back to those days. While I certainly appreciated the nostalgia of this dish, my family did not. Even with some cheese sprinkled on top, this dish could not, and will not, win them over. For the kids, it was too bland, not enough flavor. For my husband, who did not grow up in the US, it was palatable, but he didn't go back for seconds. I did not use the full box of elbow mac and it still seemed a bit on the "dry" side. If you make this, err on the side of less pasta. I made this as written and I agree that it's a good "base" to start from, but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacksmom77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This is a family favorite! My mother's recipe is a little different though. Ground beef browned with diced onion drained add 3 cans of tomato soup, three cans of water, and a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce let simmer while you boil the elbow macaroni, drain and layer sauce noodles and sliced velveeta cheese and shredded swiss ( or any cheese you like). cover and bake on 350 for 30 - 45 mins..... FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I grew up eating American Chop Suey!! My Mother used to make it for us, and I now make it for my children and they Love it! The recipe my mother used was almost identical to this recipe, with a few additions. She adds a Beef Bouillon Cube, a Tbsp of Worcestershire Sauce, and tops it off with Parmesan Cheese. It is so good, and so simple to make. It is an old standby in my household now, just as it was in my household growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent, simple recipe. Highly recommended as provided by April. Also easy to change to personal preferences. Thank you for posting this, April.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this the other night but made two changes. The first change I substituted ground sausage for the ground beef. The second change - I used my favorite jarred sauce. We really enjoyed the taste of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Oops. Small tweaks that add flavor. 2lbs ground beef, 3 cans condensed tomato soup, salt, pepper, garlic powder. Brown the meat with the onions and seasonings (to taste). The third can of soup keeps it from getting dry. Once it is mixed turn the burn to low add more seasoning to taste and stir. Ready after about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
A great comfort food. I had this growing up, except we used hot dogs rather than ground beef. We sliced the hot dogs and fried them in a little oil with the onions. Kids love this. Bland? Not to kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I started out with this recipe but it ended up being very different. I only had one can of tomato soup so I took a large can of tomato sauce and whisked a package of chili seasoning mix into the sauce before pouring it into the mixture. I also added a can of black beans and diced tomatoes and used tri-color pasta instead of plain macaroni. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Yount Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
It was good, I used Johnsonville sausage and that gave it a ton of flavor, although with hamburger this may have been bland. I added fresh grated parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States