American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I grew up on this recipe and knew it as goulash, and it is a well loved dish in my home today. I give this recipe 4 stars as written (it lacks green peppers-->flavor). After reading reviews, I tried it with the following changes: added green peppers, used celery because I was out of onion, Worcestershire sauce, onion powder since I was out of onion, dropped one can of soup for a can of petit diced tomatoes, and added chopped pepperoni ... And oh my! Still the same comfort food feel as what I grew up with and have made for years, but the pepperoni bits really added a flavor that I hadn't realized it was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I grew up on this dish as a kid and loved it! I use 1-2 cans of whole tomatoes cut chunky in the pot. I also just add the elbow macaroni directly into the hamburg onion tomato mixture and cook until tender. So the macaroni cooks in the tomato juice. Easy and yummy. If it gets thick, add some tomato juice or V8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was great I added a few things. I sauté a diced onion in a little EVOO and add a diced red bell and Green pepper to that a TBL of sugar and caramelize. I then brown ground beef and add a TBL of sugar to that and add together with two cans of diced tomatos cook over med heat for 10 minutes then add it to sauce pan with elbows and add a small jar of marinara sauce heat on low for 15 minute for flavors to sink in. The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Tasty, ...and as a lot of things, better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redlightz420

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Very quick and easy. I used about 1 1/2 cups of macaroni for mine. My boys loved it. I would definately make it again. I usually make goulash with diced tomatoes, and my youngest always makes me pick them out, but this he didn't complain about one bit. So I will use this recipe now instead of making it with canned tomatoes. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for us when we were kids. We loved it then and still do. The only thing different was she would fry up some bacon, crumble it, add to the pan as the last ingredient and let it simmer to incorporate the flavors. My husband loves it! I think if you use anything but Campbell's tomato soup you will not get the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I've made it a few times, it's a big hit with my family. I do a few things different, I add in a 14.5 ounce of diced tomatoes along with the tomato soup. As well as when I'm cooking the meat and onions together I add a few teaspoons of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is fast, easy, and satisfying. I used marinara sauce instead of the tomato soup which was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I grew up eating this recipe. My family called it slumgullian. Over the years we have also added to it. Changed the soup to marinara, added green peppers and garlic and mushrooms. Great memories from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States