American Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I haven't tasted this recipe yet but logged in just to comment because making it has been such a nightmare. The step where it tells you to cook the bacon and onion together? I should have known better but hadn't had my coffee yet. DO NOT cook them together or the bacon will never crisp up. Also it's taking at least an extra ten minutes to cook. The eggs are done but the potatoes are not cooked all the way through at 35 minutes in the oven. This dish mostly tasted like bacon and took 45 minutes to cook. Overall it was okay but not worth the effort. I may include hashbrowns in future egg bakes but won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Was not fond of this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
this was really good!! I had to cook it longer but maybe just because I am at a higher altitude, about 30 minutes longer. Great recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It disappeared from the casserole dish right after everyone got home!! However, it was A LOT of work lol!! seriously! It would help to do as much prep work as possible before you actually go to assemble the casserole. Thaw the hashbrowns in the fridge, grate the cheese, chop the green peppers, dice the bacon put the eggs on the counter to warm them to room temp etc. But everyone liked it a lot! I would probably add a couple more eggs to keep it moist, it was sort of dry (we don't use too much cheese and I used only two cups of cheese). It would probably be good to add Rotel Diced tomatoes at the end to top it. I'd make it again maybe try sausage and more eggs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
love this and the kids will clean off their plates everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was delicious. I made it for a family thing hoping to have some leftovers but the family devoured it ALL. I used 8 eggs instead of 6 and added a little extra bacon and used sharp cheddar and pepperjack cheeses. It was so great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOMAGIC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Loved it! Made it today and it got rave reviews. I will say that we cooked it for about 10-15 minutes more than stated because it didn't seem to be setting. It was perfect and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this for a ladies brunch and everyone thought it was wonderful. I did not change a thing. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious.. I really liked the tang from the cottage cheese.. was different. I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States