Amby Rae's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was fine, but nothing special. Definately lay back on the sour cream and reduce it to 1 cup. Might be good with some pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, but used dried mint . It was good, but not outstanding. Perhaps the fresh mint would have made a difference. Very quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I made this recipe using yogurt in place of the sourcream and also added some fresh dill to it; the yogurt was healthier and I also needed to use them both up. The mint was from my garden so I felt good about that (not a green thumb normally). We used the dressing on the side as a dip for the cucumbers. Healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I'm not rating this because I have not tried it yet, but some of the reviews were awful. Peoples tastes are different, you either like it or you don't. No sense telling others not to try a recipe because they may love it. Tom J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I was excited to try this new recipe b/c I love cucumber salads, but I did not care for this! Maybe it was the lemon juice, not sure but it was bitter and just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I can't bring myself to rate a recipe badly. I think it takes a lot of guts to post one for thousands of strangers to judge. Having said that, as written, this didn't work for me. Obviously, one cup of sour cream per cuke is over the top & I added it a spoonful at a time until everything was just lightly coated. I liked the addition of mint, that was a nice touch but after tasting, I also added fresh dill & cracked black pepper. Not bad, just not something I'll make again. Thanks for letting me try it, though:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I've made this many times—it is very healthy, has a clean taste. I agree with most that the dressing amount is more than double what you need, so I half the quantities of all the dressing ingredients, otherwise it would be garlicky and sour. Don't remove the olive oil- it needs body. I like that the recipe is versatile—sour cream or yogurt, mint or dill. I love garlic, but I use only a small clove in this recipe, because it really amplifies as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was a hit the first night and "even better" the next day. The seasoning level was subdued, but right for a salad with cucumbers in it (want to taste the salad and not just the seasoning). This will be added to our regular family rotation - for each of the four families gathered for our Labor Day festivities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was hard for me to rate - because like most of the other reviewers, I made some major changes. I only used one cup of low fat sour cream (next time I think I will reduce to 2/3 cup). I also used dill instead of mint and increased the pepper to 1/4 tsp. With these changes, it was good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Yummy! I used a bit less sour cream as recommended everywhere in the ratings. I skipped the lemon juice and added probably a good teaspoon of ground dill. Added some tomato and vidalia onion and as recommended elsewhere added about a teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States