Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this salad for Thanksgiving dinner and I have to agree with other reviewers that it would be best if you cut back the amount of spices used. Also a bit more cool-whip would help it. It is good though and I would try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I tried this recipe "as is" and then made it again with half the coconut and half the spices. Much better in my opinion with just half of these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This Ambrosia was one of the first to go at a recent salad/dessert bar I hosted. For personal preference I omitted half the coconut, half the marshmallows, half the cool whip, the can of fruit cocktail, 3/4 the nutmeg and 1/2 the cinnamon. Instead I used half sour cream and half coolwhip in the dressing, and chopped fresh oranges in place of fruit cocktail. As you can see, I changed it quite a bit. But it was a definite hit, and I will make my version again. Thanks Kimberly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Consensus seems to be reduce/omit cinnamon & nutmeg & reduce coconut by 1/2 so I did. Also reduced Cool Whip by 1/2 and added 1/2 Sour Cream. Added fresh fruits in season: strawberries, blueberries, peaches & apple. AND, used 1/2 white mini marshmallows and 1/2 coloured mini marshmallows for a bit of colour. MMMMMMmmmmmmm !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This recipe reminds me of a salad my grandma made while I was growing up! I left out the cinnamon and nutmeg and added about 12 ozs. of Cool Whip and 1 3/4 cup coconut! My guests loved this easy and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This was great! I've never made ambrosia before, but a family friend was having a luau and requested that everyone bring a 'tropical' type dish. With pineapple and coconut this fit the bill, and it was a huge hit! I used tropical fruit salad to add to the Hawaiian theme, and it was a hit. My father was devastated that my mom and I came home without leftovers. Thank you, Kimberley, this will be going into my regular rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe and so easy, took it to a gathering yesterday. Everyone went back for seconds and asked for the recipe. Congratulations to Kimberly for creating such a delicious dish. Larita T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Per other reviews, I used 1/2 the stated amounts of cinnamon, nutmeg, and coconut, and I'm really glad I did. The spices make this different than other similar desserts -- not spectactular, but something new. This is a pretty neat mix of flavors, and a good way to use up bits and pieces of leftover canned fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
Great Recipe, especially for a non-cook like myself! Everyone Loved it!!! Was asked to make this again for the 4th of July! My only note to this recipe is to double the amount of cool whip or cut the coconut in half. Many Thanks to Kimberley for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This recipe is very easy and very delicious! I got lots of rave reviews when I served it at my summer party! I added fresh purple grapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States