Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
this is good but and a cup of sour cream and its perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTAL4
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was looking for something simple yet yummy, and I found it! I opted to forgo the cinnamon, nutmeg, fruit cocktail, cherries, and walnuts. Instead I added canned crushed pineapple, and grapes. The second batch I tried I added some of the juice from the pineapple (as suggested by my boyfriend) and it made this recipe twice as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I doubled the amount of fruit, added bananas, and added 8oz of sour cream. I also didn't use any nutmeg or cinnamon-don't like either. Wow, it was sooooo good! Everybody was asking for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bigford

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a good ambrosia salad. I used less coconut and less marshmallows. The maraschino cherries are a must for flavor and bright color. There are cherries in the fruit cocktail, but are not of good quality. I sprinkled a slight amount of cinnamon on top for garnish. I'll make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Too much nutmeg & cinnamon but otherwise delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
The reviewer "Beautiful Tragedy" had the best revision of this recipe. My modifications were, instead of can fruit cocktail I used Del Monte Fruit Salad so the fruit would be fresh like, along with an apple, banana, and fresh blueberries. I also used sour cream. With the spices I just sprinkle a little of both on top at the end to give it a pretty appearance which turned out to be just right. I love coconut but my guy doesn't so I omitted that. I made this at a pontoon party and it was gone in seconds. Everyone wanted to know who made that dish. I must say it is delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Hilsendager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Don't add the cinnamon and nutmeg, its way to nutty. Try it on a small portion in a bowl before you put it on the whole salad. Upside is..its super fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Arguelles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
COMPLETELY ADDICTIVE!!!! I followed the previous suggestions with halving the whipped topping and adding the sour cream. I also halved the coconut and the marshmallows and doubled the amount of walnuts. SO GOOD!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Super easy and not just for the holidays! I made this to take to a potluck after church in "June" and it was a big hit -- there was only 1/2 c. leftover. Next time I may omit the coconut because I find that a lot of people do not care for it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trecie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I love Ambrosia salad, however, when I make this recipe, I leave out the spices and use less coconut. I always use Extra Creamy whipped topping too. It is always a hit wherever I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States