Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this last year for our Church Easter buffet and have been asked to make again. Everyone loved it. Even making it for my family this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I confess I tweaked it some, dropped the spices. Again it was one of those recipes that people called me and begged me for. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very simple and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this recipe, couldn't find maraschino cherries at my local market, but added chunks from two kiwis. I also use pecans since I am allergic to walnuts. Awesome. My church members are asking for more! thank for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Compton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
LOVE this recipe!! Always a hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arod78748

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I was not a fan of this recipe. WAY too much coconut, and the cinnamon gave it a dingy look. It did taste okay. Next time I will cut the coconut down, to probably 1/2 cup, skip the cinnamon and nutmeg, and add a little more whipped topping. I'm hoping adding some more whipped topping will save this. Basically by the time the adjustments are made to make this good, it will be a whole different recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Made this for 35 people and it was great. Did mix Cool Whip with sour cream, left out spices, fruit cocktail and half the coconut but added fresh strawberries and grapes. Next time will make just like recipe to see difference and will adjust from there if I want to. Thanks for recipe cause I'd never made it before and was very afraid. Ladies that never give out compliments raved about the salad and can't wait for me to make it again. Woohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Great, easy recipe! I used only 1 cup of coconut, and just shook in a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg. I think the spices made the difference, although I can see why too much would be overpowering. Thanks for the recipe that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I looked at the other reviews before making this recipe. I left out the spices, used a little less coconut, and added about cup of sour cream. This was sooo good. Next time however, I will not use canned fruit cocktail, but substitute a can of peaches and a can of pears diced up as even the name-brand fruit cocktail on the market today is not at all like the stuff we used to get when I was a kid; it's mostly juice now with a some measly diced fruit. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I was looking for a fruit salad to bring to our first visit to the lake in 2012. This recipe was great but I don't think anyone really enjoyed the "ambrosia/coconut." I loved it but I think I'll continue to look for a more traditional fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States