Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was very good, however I would suggest skipping the spices. The nutmeg and cinnamon didn't go over very well. I do plan to make it again, just without the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
My husband and I both loved this! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good but I'm not a huge fan of nutmeg so a cut it back to just a sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Can't beat this for simplicity! I decided to add this dish to my Christmas dinner at the last minute and didn't have all the exact ingredients on hand, so I made the following alterations: no fruit cocktail, no maraschino cherries, no nutmeg. I skipped the cinnamon(thought it might clash with my "extras"). I used a 20 oz can of pineapple (considerably more than the recipe called for), TWO 11 oz tins of mandarin oranges, and then tossed in three pints of fresh blackberries, 4 small sliced bananas from my backyard and two lilikoi (passionfruit) also from my yard. I cut the coconut way back to maybe 1/2-3/4 cup. The blackberries turned the salad a bit purple, which looked very festive actually, and the combination was divine! We're going to try this without the coconut and the mini marshmallows next time for a fruit salad that isn't quite as sweet, though we won't call it "ambrosia". The recipe was super easy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was excellent--I'm not a big fan of coconut, so I followed the advice of others and cut the amount in half. Also cut the spices in half. Came out perfectly with a wonderful flavor and texture. Made for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was REALLY good! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicana_peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
The next time I make this I will leave the nutmeg out since it was way over powering. I also cut the other spice in half like suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess v

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
One star with the spices; think about it, 1 tsp. each nutmeg & cinnamon -- with this fruit combination? Four star as a basis for a basic ambrosia, if you leave out the spices. Of course, I never make mine with Cool Whip, only real whipped cream. No one needs all those chemicals in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I love this recipe! I agree with the others about reducing the coconut. And, I used chopped pecans (I am from Georgia after all) instead of the walnuts. Everything else remained the same. I get requests for this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
this salad was very good but of course i changed the recipe. i didnt put any spices in it at all, used only 1/2 cup of coconut and i used strawberry cool whip topping. i took this to a thanksgiving dinner at work and there was none to bring home, thank goodness i had some while i was their.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States