Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Always find it invaluable to read the comments BEFORE the preparation begins. This is a nice recipe. Decided to try this keeping comments in mind with a few tweaks. Made this for 25 people. Left out the spices. Added a few big spoonfuls of sour cream. Used the extra creamy CoolWhip but will use Mfg. Whipping cream next time, (no preservatives.) Added a dry pkg of Pistacio Pudding mix as well (light green color), cut coconut in half (a must), always use sugar free fruit in it's own juice instead of sugar water. Soaked for two or three minutes the multi-colored marshmallows in the fruit juice (from cans) prior to adding to the bowl. Speeds the softening of the marshmallows. Throw juice away. Chopped and toasted walnuts to add, just prior to serving. For presentation, toasted a bit of coconut to place in the center of serving dish and topped with a maraschino cherry in the center. Refreshing, tasty, well received. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I really liked this recipe but wasn't to interested in the nutmeg. My guests just loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I WISH I HAD READ OTHER FOLKS COMMENTS BECAUSE THIS WAS TERRIBLE. TOOOOOOO MUCH COCONUT AND NOT ENOUGH NUTS! NEXT TIME I'LL TAKE ADVICE FROM OTHERS FROM NOW ON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recipe couldn't have been easier to make. Very simple yet extremely deliscious! I didn't have nutmeg, so I left it out and it still tasted great! I'll make it again next time I need to bring something to a dinner/get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was one of the best fruit salads I have ever had. I made it for a potluck at my work and they loved it. When I made for a family Thanksgiving, I replaced the cherries with sliced strawberries, since my mother is allergic to the red dye used in maraschino cherries. It was just as good with the strawberries, and I used glazed walnuts to try something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McKenney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Hall, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe, so easy! I used the Creamy Cool Whip like other reviewers and also left out the spices. I made 1 1/2 batch for a luncheon and it was almost gone when I cleaned up! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Best fruit ambrosia salad I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowdogGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
very tasty, i would use 1-1 1/2c of coconut instead of the 2 1/2 and definately make the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I made the recipe with all the spices and it was "Superb!". I used the tropical fruit cocktail as it's hot & humid out, and this is the perfect desert for a day like this. I will be making this one a lot! Thanks for a great change to blander ambrosias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
it looks so yummy i am gona shaer it with every one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Gillett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States