Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for the first time on Christmas Day 2010. Very disappointed. Tasted horrible. I should have left out the nutmeg and cinnamon and maybe it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I tried this recipe as written, but was a little disappointed. My aunt used to make ambrosia every year for Christmas, and everyone loved it! So, when I found this recipe, I was really excited to make it...slight let down :( This recipe is similar to my aunt's version, except there is no fruit cocktail, cinnamon, or nutmeg, and instead of cool whip, sour cream is used...and that is the "ULTIMATE AMBROSIA" recipe. In fact, I guess I should post it, so everyone can enjoy this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
this is good but and a cup of sour cream and its perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTAL4
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was looking for something simple yet yummy, and I found it! I opted to forgo the cinnamon, nutmeg, fruit cocktail, cherries, and walnuts. Instead I added canned crushed pineapple, and grapes. The second batch I tried I added some of the juice from the pineapple (as suggested by my boyfriend) and it made this recipe twice as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I doubled the amount of fruit, added bananas, and added 8oz of sour cream. I also didn't use any nutmeg or cinnamon-don't like either. Wow, it was sooooo good! Everybody was asking for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bigford

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a good ambrosia salad. I used less coconut and less marshmallows. The maraschino cherries are a must for flavor and bright color. There are cherries in the fruit cocktail, but are not of good quality. I sprinkled a slight amount of cinnamon on top for garnish. I'll make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Too much nutmeg & cinnamon but otherwise delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
The reviewer "Beautiful Tragedy" had the best revision of this recipe. My modifications were, instead of can fruit cocktail I used Del Monte Fruit Salad so the fruit would be fresh like, along with an apple, banana, and fresh blueberries. I also used sour cream. With the spices I just sprinkle a little of both on top at the end to give it a pretty appearance which turned out to be just right. I love coconut but my guy doesn't so I omitted that. I made this at a pontoon party and it was gone in seconds. Everyone wanted to know who made that dish. I must say it is delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Don't add the cinnamon and nutmeg, its way to nutty. Try it on a small portion in a bowl before you put it on the whole salad. Upside is..its super fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
COMPLETELY ADDICTIVE!!!! I followed the previous suggestions with halving the whipped topping and adding the sour cream. I also halved the coconut and the marshmallows and doubled the amount of walnuts. SO GOOD!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States