Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've made this recipe using instant pistachio pudding with the coolwhip instead of the spices. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Murphy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: East Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Very good recipe. I did add about 4 oz of sour cream to the ingredients. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Great summer salad. Very easy to make, fresh, light, cool and delicious. I leave the cinnamon and nutmeg out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Good basic recipe. I like making my own whipped cream, 1 tblspoon vanilla and 1/2-2/3 cup powdered sugar to 9 ounces of cream. I used half the cinnamon and none of the nutmeg. Toasted shopped walnuts already add to the rustic flavor. Fresh very ripe pineapple and if I can, home made marshmallows, lemon or lime flavored. Adding more cherries adds to the presentation, but not so much to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
A classic from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I loved it I did change a few things though. I made this fruit ambrosia and added one can of m. oranges and the nuts and all of the coconut and 2 bananas and 10 oz of the cherries but I put 8 oz of sour cream and 8 oz of cool whip and added 1/3 a package of dry cherry Jello to this it tasted awesome give it a try with any flavor of dry Jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cami
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Easy, easy to make I cut done on the spices in half as the previous reviews and I used lite cool whip ( less calories) .. It came out delicious .. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great recipe! Easy,followed previous users advice and cut the spices down to 1/4 teaspoon. My first time making this and everyone raved about it. It was all gone too.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was based on Ambrosia but not a true Ambrosia. I am a true southern cook and never have I heard of adding cinnamon or nutmeg to Ambrosia. Check out the web and you will see you won't find those ingredients in any true Ambrosia. Now that is not to say you cannot add different fruits to Ambrosia . Ambrosia is one of the true southern dishes we have. She also added far too many marshmallows. Usually a cup and a half is what is called for but whatever suits your preference . Same with the coconut - too much again, usually 1 1/2 cups, again preference . Also most people use pecans in this dish but I have seen it made with walnuts - again preference, however since pecans are grown in the South and are a staple of the South - pecans are usually what is used in Ambrosia. One can play with Ambrosia up to a point. If in doubt about the cinnamon and nutmeg, check other Ambrosia recipes. I'm 63 years old and a Southerner and have never heard of anyone adding spices to Ambrosia. This recipe just didn't taste right, in my opinion the spices ruined the taste, one could not call this true Ambrosia . Allrecipes has other Ambrosia recipes you might want to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From The Land Of Shee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and everyone thought it was delicious. I agreed with the readers and cut back on the spices. I only added a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon and used a tub and a half of cool whip. The spices were very subtle and gave it a different kind of flavor but it was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States