Ambrosia Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
A family favorite already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I like the flavor of these cookies. Made a few adjustments: cut both the sugars back to 3/4 cup each. Used chopped pecan instead of walnuts - didn't have walnuts. Used Irish Oatmeal. Flattened the cookies before baking them. 16 minutes at 350. Right amount of chewiness. Not too sweet. The nuts give them a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
These cookies were amazing just the way they are. I dropped them with a regular spoon and cooked them for 15 mins since the recipe didn't specify a size. Mine were not too sweet. The perfect cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I halved all the ingredients and made 12 good size cookies (I baked on a Pampered Chef Stoneware bar pan for 12 minutes). I followed the recipe exactly, did not find these too sweet as other reviews stated in fact they were totally delicious (may be I just have a sweet tooth). This really is a recipe to be saved and I plan on making these again on Thursday for the coffee and book exchange that I am hosting. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I thought this recipe was absolutely wonderful. This is an easy 5 star! I made a few minor adjustments because of personal preferences and where I live (Bernalillo NM 6300+ altitude). Cooking time 11 minutes exactly, 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 margarine, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar and 1 3/4 coconut. Could not ask for a better cookie :) Thank you. I make a different batch of cookies every one to two weeks for my wife and neighbors. Mega thumbs up from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bernalillo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I have to agree w/ another reviewer who was upset at how the directions were written. The ingredients should be listed in the order they are called for in the recipe. Someone at allrecipes.com should really fix this. Despite the directions, the cookies themselves are fantastic. The only change I had to make was to bake the cookies for about 15 min @ 350. If I baked them according to the directions, they would have been undercooked. I got almost 5 dozen cookies from this recipe, Im not sure how they figured 36 cookies unless you make them huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These are very good. I definitely will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This had the potential to be a great cookie recipe, even though the directions could have been written more clearly. Novice bakers might be confused in that the sugars were not listed together, nor does the submitter indicate what size the cookie dough should be dropped onto the cookie sheets. The main issue, however, is that these are just too sweet. In hindsight, I would cut the sugar back by a half cup, perhaps using only 1-1/2 cups total between the two sugars. I omitted the nuts and substituted chocolate chips, but that is just a taste preference and of course did not affect the sweetness of the dough itself. Loved the combination of the oatmeal and coconut (and my addition of chocolate chips) but it couldn't overcome the too-sweet dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These cookies are so easy to prepare. I add 1/2 teaspoon orange extract and 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated orange peel for added flavor. Also, sprinkle with confectioners sugar when cooling. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Yummy! Used Splenda in place of sugars (white = 1 cup Splenda, brown = 1 cup Splenda + 1/4 cup sugar-free maple syrup). Only used 1 cup oats. Flattened out cookie before baking. Thank you, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States