Ambrosia Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I made this cake for Mother's Day. Everyone loved it. I chose this recipe because it uses egg whites rather than whole eggs, and it seemd like it would be less calories. I thought there was a lot of sugar, so I reduced the sugar in the cake by 1/4 cup. The cake tasted great! The filling and the frosting worked up quickly even though the recipe sounds involved. I would definetley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
How silly to write a review for a recipe without even trying it--hardly counts as a review if all you managed to do is read the recipe! Baking from scratch is not that hard (this is not a difficult recipe, really, if you're familiar with basic baking techniques) and this cake is delicious. A nice light change of pace, great for spring and summer meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Excellent flavors in this cake. I had a hard time making the frosting. Mine didn't turn out good. It was my first time using corn syrup. And I messed up the filling. Mine was too runny. But I really loved the flaors and will definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was incredible. Going by other reviews that said the cake was dry, I decreased the flour - and the cake was so moist that I couldn't get it out of the pan. There's not enough liquid in the filling, which would make it "crunchy", so I added about 1 Tbsp of water. I also didn't have anything orange on hand except extract, so I used 1/2 tsp of that and water to make 1 Tbsp. I didn't let the frosting cool enough so it was runny when I put it on the cake, but it did thicken up nicely. If it's not thick enough, keep beating it - it'll get there. This is appropriately named; it tastes like a little piece of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I didn't put this cake together exactly as written due to personal preferences. The cake part I made almost exactly as directed, besides reducing the sugar to 1 cup. It came out moist and fairly light. I doubled the filling, reduced the sugar and used a combo of lemon and lime juice and zest as I'm not partial to orange flavoured desserts. I put half of the filling between the cakes and the rest on top. I poked the cake tops with a fork so that the filling flavour could penetrate the cake better. I skipped the icing altogether. The cake has a wonderfully light fresh taste. I'll make it like this again, maybe serving it with whipped cream. The cake is a great way to use up egg whites, and I'll use it again and try icing it with chocolate icing or something a little richer instead of the citrus/coconut filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
First of all, in order to make the orange striped layers in the photo, you would have to cut each cake in two and maybe double the recipe for the middle citrus filling (little more runny than expected). Secondly, I thought the cake would be a little more coconutty and light, but the coconut was more for extra flavor and texture and the cake was a heavier and more crumbly than I thought it would be. The frosting recipe I had to change as I didn't have almond extract (which I'm sure would have tasted better), so I used vanilla extract. The result was kind of like what I would imagine marshmallow fluff to be like, except more buoyant and light. Delightful! Making it was a bit difficult since I didn't have a candy thermometer--but I let it simmer for a couple minutes after it seemed to clear up after boiling (the test didn't work out so much for me--perhaps the water wasn't cold enough or the sample was too hot). Apparently I did it all right since I really liked the frosting texture (yielded quite a lot even though only one egg white was used--brilliant!). Since it wasn't what I imagined the cake to be, I give the recipe **** but it was a lot of fun to make and my sister LOVED it and craved it for about a week after we first made and finished it. Great flavors indeed, although a bit on the sweet side. I'd cut back the sugar in the cake and/or the citrus filling, or else I would have it with a nice summery drink or a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Maybe I didn't do something right but this recipe did not turn out for me at all. The cake did the best and it was dry. The filling tasted like orange rind but super sweet. The icing never thickened up for me. I had to throw the whole thing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly but it just didn't turn out. The cake was dry and heavy, the filling was crunchy and hard, and the frosting never thickened. It took me all day and it was very disappointing for the amount of time it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States