Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
another great Chinese recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briansthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
It was very dry, but the flavor was good. I am going to try this recipe again and tweak it a bit to see if I can improve on the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Britain, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
AMAZING!!!!!!!! Just like you'd get it in an upscale chinese restaurant!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this exactly by the recipe except I added broccoli and beans as I didn't have green pepper and it was fantastic! It even freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custer, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used pork tenderloin instead and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was so goooood! I left out the onions and peppers and added a little more 5 spice powder. You might want to plan on adding more teriyaki sauce and honey. I served this with rice and steamed broccoli it was better then any seseme chicken we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe was lacking something for us. I was anticipating a flavor more in line with what you would get at a chinese restaurant and this really wasn't it. It is very sweet, but needed something more. We ended up adding some chinese hot sauce to make it taste better. It did help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
AWESOMENESS!! I used 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 cup corn starch to fry my dark meat chicken (personal preference). I had no 5 spice powder on hand so in the flour mixture, I used 1 tsp powdered ginger 1/4 tsp cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg which coincidentally is 3 out of the 5 spices in 5spice powder. Other reviews said to increase the sauce, so I used 1/2 cup teriyaki and 1/3 cup honey -plenty of sauce for the jasmine rice. My kids and my DH who is a finicky Chinese food eater loved it! He even said that when he burped it burped like Chinese food (now that's a compliment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe is super easy to prepare. I did have to triple the amount of teryiaki and double the amount of honey. I also added about a tablespoon and a half of soy, just to cut down the sweetness. I messed up with the coating (my fault). I put the coating in a bowl and threw in my chicken and tried to coat it that way...didn't work out so well so I would stick with only doing a few pieces at a time in a plastic sack even though it's quite time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I recommend doubling the sauce and either add a green garnish or use green pepper. very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States