Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Really enjoyed this recipe.. used fresh grated ginger instead of 5-spice powder. Added a bit of sesame oil to the pan before frying chicken. Used Fish & Things Terryaki Marinade from this site as recommended and scaled it down to 12 servings.. will use even less next time and cut down on the soy as it was overpowering! This recipe tasted even better warmed up the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
My husband loves Sesame chicken from the chinese restaurant but I could never get it to taste authentic until this- THIS RECIPE WAS AWESOME!!! I used Yoshida's and also ground ginger instead of Five Spice- but the chicken was super tender and tasted wonderful- My husband loved it and so did my three year old!!! Thanks Amber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
this was sooo good! i made it with brown rice on the side (well actually under it but whatever) me and my roommate eat chinese a few times a week and this tasted way better then what we usually get, i used garlic and ginger instead of 5-spice. the only thing i will change is to triple the sauce amount because we love it saucy and this just makes enough to lightly coat the chicken. so, it was deeeee-lish and beautiful as well. thanks amber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Great Recipe. Using Ginger is a great idea for an extra kick. The 5 spice is a little too bland for me. But it was a hit at my house. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Everyone I make this for says it's good enough to be in a resturant. I have adapted the recipe a bit to my likings, but it's a great guide for asian cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wow, my mum really loved this chicken. I'm trying to become domestic to cook for my hubby-to-be. Not like the chicken you get in Chinese resturants but good just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
We loved this recipe. Kids included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This Excellent, it sure tastes like the dish you get in the Chinese place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Great Recipe Ialso tripled the sauce and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States