Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
As others have suggested, you’ll probably end up tripling the sauce amount; the fried chicken chunks generally absorb the relatively small amount of sauce mixture that is called-for very quickly. Use sesame oil (refined for high heat) for frying. I’d also recommend that you pre-mix together the teriyaki sauce and honey separately in a small dish (or measuring cup), as opposed to adding each of those separately to the chicken pieces after you put them back in the skillet. This prevents one or the other tastes from becoming overly dominant. And I would definitely *not* omit the five-spice powder, as this is the unique, exotic ingredient that has a chance to give this dish a distinctively Asian taste. The end result of this recipe is relatively unsweet; if you do like more sweetness (most restaurant-style sesame chicken is actually sweeter than this recipe) I’d add brown sugar to taste when you're at the final mix, and maybe a little soy sauce and ginger powder. Not the best I've had, but all in all, a very well-done, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This can be very tasty, if you make a few changes. I halved the amount of flour, and I substituted the five-spice powder in favor of a packet of Honey Sesame seasoning mix that I found in the oriental food section of the supermarket. I used thin sliced chicken breast which browns quicker, it only took about 2-3 minutes per side. Also I used broccoli and carrots rather than the onion and peppers. Like many others had suggested, I made more sauce than called for. I tripled up on the teriyaki sauce but be cautious to not use too much honey. Don't bother to add the toasted sesame seeds until the end. I recommend keeping the red pepper flakes, as they add just a slight amount of heat. Very simple and quick to make, as well as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used one full red pepper in place of the green pepper and based on the previous reviews, I quadrupled the "sauce". To make quick work of the sauce and to cut down on overmixing (and by overmixing, I mean losing some of the "crust" on the chicken), I mixed the teryaki sauce and honey together before pouring it over the chicken. I do not have a wok, I made this in my cast iron skillet--I was pretty proud of that. Wok or not, this still turned out darn tasty. My husband and kids inhaled this. I made a Japanese-Style cabbage salad to go with it, my husband made a comment that those two combined would make a great lettuce wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was excellent! I took others' advise and tripled the sauce, it cookes down quickly so I'm glad I did this. I paired this with the Chicken Lo Mein submitted by Michelle on this site and substituted some of the chicken in that with shrimp. These dishes went great together. It was Asian night at our house. Amber's Sesame Chicken was easy to prepare and the flavor was excellent and just as good as leftovers. I served it with the lo mean and some white rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
5/13/10 Ok, I've made this before, but couldn't find the recipe so I printed it off the site again. I made it and was really disappointed. It is going from a 5 star to a 2 star - something has changed in the listing of the recipe! The first time it must have said to make the Fish and Things Teriyaki Marinade, this recipe now states add 2 T teriyaki sauce. Well I thought teriyaki sauce was just out of the bottle and it was really bad. Not sweet, no flavor, and definitely not enough. Like a had to add 3/4 of a bottle and a ton of honey and it still wasn't sweet. SO- remembering the first time when it was a "5", I used the Fish and Things and it was to die for. Somebody please fix this recipe back the way it was. It had been great before!!!! MY MY MY! Very addicting! This is awesome!! We also made enough sauce to make it drowned in it! The Teriyaki recipe makes plenty, so why not use it. We served it over basmati rice and the whole family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Per the advice of others, I tripled the sauce. It seemed necessary. I also didn't use as many sesame seeds as it called for (I didn't want them to overpower the flavor). I would also recommend MORE ONIONS AND PEPPERS! At least double, if not triple. I will probably cook the chicken longer next time just to make sure it's done thoroughly, just a personal preference. My husband LOVED this recipe and wants me to make it again ASAP. (He's a picky chinese food eater and said this tasted authentic--probably the chinese 5 spice). He did wish there were more onions and peppers though. Served over a bed of white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIZEEMONKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
YUM!!! Very good, and thankfully not as sticky or sweet as my favorite Chinese restaurant. I skipped the five-spice (I HATE black licorice, and that's what the flavor primarily is -- comes from the anise) in favor of some powdered ginger. The flour didn't stick well to the chicken, so the pieces didn't have a "crunch" but that's okay with me. Also, I sauteed thinly sliced onion and a clove of elephant garlic in a combination of sesame oil and wok oil (basically garlic oil) first, then removed them before adding the chicken. Then I added 1/2 C each of honey and teriyaki which made plenty of sauce, (enough for the jasmine rice to soak into) before returning the garlic and onion to the skillet. My picky picky 4-year-old cleaned his plate! Can't wait for lunch leftovers!! Thanks SO much! ** Had leftovers today and wasn't pleased -- way too sweet. Will try replacing some of the teryiaki with soy sauce next time to cut down on the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This came out so good! I had to improvise a little, because I didn't have any teriyaki sauce. After finding out that teriyaki sauce is made of sweet soy sauce and wine, I made my own version of it by mixing half soy sauce and half white wine, which is why mine came out much darker than the other photos of this recipe on this site. I didn't bother to add any extra sweetness. I doubled the sauce as suggested by some of the other reviewers. This dish got rave reviews from everyone. It tasted just like what we order at the Chinese takeout. I will surely be making this again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Really enjoyed this recipe.. used fresh grated ginger instead of 5-spice powder. Added a bit of sesame oil to the pan before frying chicken. Used Fish & Things Terryaki Marinade from this site as recommended and scaled it down to 12 servings.. will use even less next time and cut down on the soy as it was overpowering! This recipe tasted even better warmed up the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was ok for me, my kids seem to love it. However, I did do a couple of things different. First, I floured the chicken and fried it in my deep fryer for a couple of minutes to make sure it browned evenly. I tried to maked more sauce but not sure how it would turn out so I stopped. Next time I will just go to town on it. For the people that could not find the chinese five spice powder look for an asian store nearest you and you will find other spices and marinades we use daily (Cheaper)... I will try this again.... Oh, since I didn't fry the chicken in the same pan everything else was cooked in I sprinkled a little of my flour mixture in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Golden City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States