Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
My family enjoyed this recipe. For the health conscious, I suggest substituting peanut for vegetable oil, eliminating the honey, and reducing the flour to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENDRAJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
My husband loves Sesame chicken from the chinese restaurant but I could never get it to taste authentic until this- THIS RECIPE WAS AWESOME!!! I used Yoshida's and also ground ginger instead of Five Spice- but the chicken was super tender and tasted wonderful- My husband loved it and so did my three year old!!! Thanks Amber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Excellent recipe with great flavor! Followed recipe exactly. Next time will probably only use 1/4 cup sesame seeds and only 1/2 tsp five spice powder but will add a little garlic powder. These changes are just for personal preference but will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
The recipe was a little unclear about the actual cooking of the chicken, and the taste was a little too teriyaki for me. My husband likes it, though, so if you love teriyaki, you'll like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
this was sooo good! i made it with brown rice on the side (well actually under it but whatever) me and my roommate eat chinese a few times a week and this tasted way better then what we usually get, i used garlic and ginger instead of 5-spice. the only thing i will change is to triple the sauce amount because we love it saucy and this just makes enough to lightly coat the chicken. so, it was deeeee-lish and beautiful as well. thanks amber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Near perfection, even by my superior standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I have never used Chinese Five Spice in anything before so this was a very different taste for us. I also used the "Fish and Things" teriyaki marinade, scaled the recipe back to 12 servings. I used the full 12 servings in the chicken and mixed a little more flour w/ water to thicken the sauce up... and it was pretty saucy. I agree that it tastes like something from a restaurant. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Great Recipe. Using Ginger is a great idea for an extra kick. The 5 spice is a little too bland for me. But it was a hit at my house. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Too woodsy of a taste, maybe try adding some orange sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Everyone I make this for says it's good enough to be in a resturant. I have adapted the recipe a bit to my likings, but it's a great guide for asian cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States