Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
My family enjoyed this recipe. For the health conscious, I suggest substituting peanut for vegetable oil, eliminating the honey, and reducing the flour to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENDRAJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
My husband loves Sesame chicken from the chinese restaurant but I could never get it to taste authentic until this- THIS RECIPE WAS AWESOME!!! I used Yoshida's and also ground ginger instead of Five Spice- but the chicken was super tender and tasted wonderful- My husband loved it and so did my three year old!!! Thanks Amber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Excellent recipe with great flavor! Followed recipe exactly. Next time will probably only use 1/4 cup sesame seeds and only 1/2 tsp five spice powder but will add a little garlic powder. These changes are just for personal preference but will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
The recipe was a little unclear about the actual cooking of the chicken, and the taste was a little too teriyaki for me. My husband likes it, though, so if you love teriyaki, you'll like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
this was sooo good! i made it with brown rice on the side (well actually under it but whatever) me and my roommate eat chinese a few times a week and this tasted way better then what we usually get, i used garlic and ginger instead of 5-spice. the only thing i will change is to triple the sauce amount because we love it saucy and this just makes enough to lightly coat the chicken. so, it was deeeee-lish and beautiful as well. thanks amber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Near perfection, even by my superior standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I have never used Chinese Five Spice in anything before so this was a very different taste for us. I also used the "Fish and Things" teriyaki marinade, scaled the recipe back to 12 servings. I used the full 12 servings in the chicken and mixed a little more flour w/ water to thicken the sauce up... and it was pretty saucy. I agree that it tastes like something from a restaurant. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Great Recipe. Using Ginger is a great idea for an extra kick. The 5 spice is a little too bland for me. But it was a hit at my house. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Too woodsy of a taste, maybe try adding some orange sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Everyone I make this for says it's good enough to be in a resturant. I have adapted the recipe a bit to my likings, but it's a great guide for asian cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States