Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the breading didn't turn out the way I wanted. The flavor was okay but I expected more from the sauce. I tweaked the sauce by adding sugar and it turned out better for me. I'll try again and rate this again if it turns out better but I am going to add my own twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this dish! I cheat and use ginger instead of the five spice and it turns out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was soooo good! I quadrupled the sauce, and added a little more Chinese 5 spice to my flour, but it was absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIBOSH2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hannah
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great recipe! It was a little bit time consuming (frying the chicken) but well worth the wait. I will be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanoverton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good, and everyone in my family liked this. I used a bit less than 1/4 cup of sesame seeds in total, ground ginger in place of the 5-spice powder, a whole onion cut in wedges and a whole green pepper sliced, and made the simple soya sauce/sake-based Teriyaki Sauce recipe from this site. I felt 1 tsp pepper was a bit much, so next time I'll cut back. As others have recommended, I tripled the sauce, but next time I'll quadruple it. The sauce thickens quickly in 1-2 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was very good, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was awesome and I did triple the sauce as was suggested. I also found that different teriyaki sauces work better than others - this time the thicker the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My daugther said, " This is the best Chinese you have ever made!" Next time though I won't add 1/2 cup of sesame seeds, it was a lot and big globs clumped up. I also used 1/2 cup of teriyaki sauce and 1/2 cup of honey which for us was a good amount, maybe make a little more next time, we like it saucy! Well make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Awesome!!! Have made this many times I prefer ginger to the Five Spice. Totally great recipe. Forget restaurant Sesame Chicken. My son and boyfriend love it. I make my own teriyaki marinade by combining soy sauce and brown sugar along with the honey. Also, I prefer polbano peppers over green - they add much more flavor and are more economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States