Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the breading didn't turn out the way I wanted. The flavor was okay but I expected more from the sauce. I tweaked the sauce by adding sugar and it turned out better for me. I'll try again and rate this again if it turns out better but I am going to add my own twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this dish! I cheat and use ginger instead of the five spice and it turns out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was soooo good! I quadrupled the sauce, and added a little more Chinese 5 spice to my flour, but it was absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIBOSH2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hannah
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great recipe! It was a little bit time consuming (frying the chicken) but well worth the wait. I will be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanoverton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good, and everyone in my family liked this. I used a bit less than 1/4 cup of sesame seeds in total, ground ginger in place of the 5-spice powder, a whole onion cut in wedges and a whole green pepper sliced, and made the simple soya sauce/sake-based Teriyaki Sauce recipe from this site. I felt 1 tsp pepper was a bit much, so next time I'll cut back. As others have recommended, I tripled the sauce, but next time I'll quadruple it. The sauce thickens quickly in 1-2 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was very good, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was awesome and I did triple the sauce as was suggested. I also found that different teriyaki sauces work better than others - this time the thicker the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My daugther said, " This is the best Chinese you have ever made!" Next time though I won't add 1/2 cup of sesame seeds, it was a lot and big globs clumped up. I also used 1/2 cup of teriyaki sauce and 1/2 cup of honey which for us was a good amount, maybe make a little more next time, we like it saucy! Well make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Awesome!!! Have made this many times I prefer ginger to the Five Spice. Totally great recipe. Forget restaurant Sesame Chicken. My son and boyfriend love it. I make my own teriyaki marinade by combining soy sauce and brown sugar along with the honey. Also, I prefer polbano peppers over green - they add much more flavor and are more economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States