Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Pretty good and easy to make. The flour and sesame coating doesn't stick very well to the chicken, and I may use less of the Chinese five spice next time. It was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was soo easy to make. I tripled the sauce like others had mentioned and had to substitute ginger for the 5 spice powder. I used 3 lbs. of chicken as I sometimes cook enough for a 2nd meal later. My kids told me that it was better than the real chinese food and that it goes to the top of their favorite meal list :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liam's Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleyanne81
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was awesome! Very impressive for my dinner date! I made extra sauce and I ommited the 5 spice.. added ginger. I made stiry fry veggies with it. I was told this will be a for sure make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We all really enjoyed this entree! It is a nice blend of "Asian" flavors. I followed the directions and cooking method to a "T." I did not add the the crushed red pepper flakes since it was an option. Thou I am sure it would have added a nice kick to the dish. Since I was cooking for two people I used two chicken breasts and cut the amount of flour to a 1/2 cup to dredge the meat and it was the perfect amount. I took the submitter's advice and used, "Fish and Things Teriyaki Marinade," from this website. I used 8T each of teriyaki sauce and honey. The Chinese five-spice powder is really a must! It is a unique spice and adds such a nice flavor to this dish. The chicken was cooked just right and seasoned well. The combination of honey, teriyaki and Chinese five-spice all worked well in this dish. I used, "Fish and Things Teriyaki Marinade," and served this entree along with, "Almond Broccoli Stir-fry," and "Orange Rice medley," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I spent 30 minutes trying to convience my husband that I had actually cooked this and it was not carry out. I have been trying to find a simple and good Sesame Chicken recipe and I finally found it. LOVED this! I made a little more sauce than the recipe calls for but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I doubled everything except the chicken for my family of 7 and still had two servings left over. I also added another X4 of the sauce when I noticed that there wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsimad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
we enjoyed this recipe because it had a lot of flavor. my husband didn't think it tasted anything like typical "sesame chicken", but liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the breading didn't turn out the way I wanted. The flavor was okay but I expected more from the sauce. I tweaked the sauce by adding sugar and it turned out better for me. I'll try again and rate this again if it turns out better but I am going to add my own twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this dish! I cheat and use ginger instead of the five spice and it turns out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States