Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is an awful lot of chicken to crowd onto a skillet and expect it to cook in 5 minutes. It didn't. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers to triple the sauce. That was not a good suggestion. It was way too much sauce. It still came out pretty tasty, just too much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is my family's favorite oriental chicken recipe. I don't deviate much from the original recipe, other than changing up the vegetables depending what I have on hand. I double the honey/teryaki glaze so that there is extra for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I lightened this recipe to suit my dietary needs, but the spirit of the recipe stayed the same and I thought it was delicious! I skipped the flour and the vegetable oil in favor of simply sauteeing the veggies and chunks of chicken in a pan lightly sprayed with PAM. I also used considerably less sesame seeds. Otherwise, I used all the remaining ingredients in the full amounts. For the teriyaki sauce, I used Soy Vay Veri Veri Teriyaki sauce (it has the least amount of sodium of any store bought teriyaki sauce I can find)...it turned out wonderful! Sweet, spicy, quick, and easy - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. Definitely something different than your regular stir fry. I forgot to grab a bell pepper at the store but other than that I made the recipe as is. It was my first time working with chinese five spice and I really liked the flavor. Next time I'll make more of the honey and teryaki mixture so that it oozes over the rice. Thanks Amber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Pretty good! I didn't like the fennel in the 5-spice powder, so I used a mixture of cinnamon and ginger instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Delicious! I REALLY enjoyed this. My hubs prefers Sichuan-style Asian dishes, but I tend to enjoy sweeter ones (i.e. sesame, orange, sweet & sour, etc.), so it's no surprise that I liked this more than he did. :) Not only was this super yummy, it also satisfied my craving for Chinese take-out lol! As many others suggested, I too made more sauce (3 x's worth). In retrospect, I wish I would have only doubled the sauce, starting with the recommended 2 T teriyaki / honey and adding more to taste. I had FAR too much sauce!!! This in no way affected the outcome, but I will certainly not add as much sauce next time. I also did NOT find it necessary to make the "fish & things" teriyaki sauce so many reviewers say "made" the dish. If you purchase a good quality teriyaki, you'll be fine. I used Kikkoman's roasted garlic (couldn't find Mr. Yoshida's) and thought it was EXCELLENT! Other than cutting back on the sauce, my only other suggested change is to not cook the veggies as long as directed. Since I prefer slightly crunchy veggies as oppsoed to soft ones, I'll definitely keep this in mind next time around. NOTE: Do not make the same mistake I almost did.... I found Dynasty brand 5 spice powder in my grocer's ethnic aisle. A 2 oz. jar cost me $2! A 1.25 oz. bottle of Spice Islands 5 spice (in the baking aisle) was DOUBLE this price. Served with steamed rice, egg rolls & almond cookies for dessert. Thanks SO much for sharing, Amber. This will be added to my recipe box for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
So much work and so bland. I was really looking forward to this especially because of all the great reviews, but this had next to no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I did as others recommended and tripled the sauce. I also used about 1/4 the red pepper, but might up that a bit next time. Everyone loved it....easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I never knew I could make Chinese that Tasted like it's from a restaurant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is outstanding! Adjust the honey to suit your taste (I like my sesame chicken a little on the sweet side). I added a whole head of garlic (an entire head, not a bulb) to the marinade, and used black sesame seeds since that's what I had on hand. I tripled the sauce, but I plan to make six times what the receipe calls for next time (so there's plenty of sauce to accompany the white rice I serve it with). Thank you so much for the receipe -- it's awesome being able to make restaurant quality food at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States