Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It was ok. The flavor was good, but perhaps a tad too sweet. It's a big mess to make. Overall not impressive enough to be worth the fat intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
simply awesome! I've been looking for a recipe like this, but was skeptical it would come out well. It really surprised me! My whole family loved it too! I made as is, but next time will double the sauce because it was so good that there wasn't enough of it! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I, like many others, thought that the amount of sesame seeds was excessive. I used 2 tablespoons for the 1 cup of flour and it was fine. I used that amount of flour to make a double recipe. I, like many others, doubled or tripled the sauce. Loved it. If you don't like spice, leave out the crushed red pepper. It wasn't too hot, but if you don't like spice, leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was ok for me, my kids seem to love it. However, I did do a couple of things different. First, I floured the chicken and fried it in my deep fryer for a couple of minutes to make sure it browned evenly. I tried to maked more sauce but not sure how it would turn out so I stopped. Next time I will just go to town on it. For the people that could not find the chinese five spice powder look for an asian store nearest you and you will find other spices and marinades we use daily (Cheaper)... I will try this again.... Oh, since I didn't fry the chicken in the same pan everything else was cooked in I sprinkled a little of my flour mixture in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Golden City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Amber you have an awesome recipe here, made it for lunch and loved it, also used the sauce on my chicken wings too! I never had to order out again! Only thing is I had to use more sauce as it was not enough for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this for dinner the other night and it was really delicious. I omitted the red pepper flakes because my kids don't like spicy things and I used red pepper instead of green. I forgot to add the sesame seeds to the flour mixture and didn't really miss them. The only other changes I made was to double the sauce ingredients and add 4 or 5 cloves of garlic to the onions and peppers. The end result was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly - except I tripled the sauce per a few other reviewers, which is a must. I will probably add a little more red pepper next time, as my husband and I thought it was a tad too sweet, but the kids loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I loved this recipe, I made a few changes. In place of bell pepper, I used shredded carrots. I also added some thinly sliced mushrooms and sliced the onion very thin. Be sure to add the red pepper flakes, I didn't use them the first time I made the recipe, thinking it may be too spicy, but they added alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeri0474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe was just ok for me. I had to double the honey and teriyaki sauce and it still didn't seem like enough, so I just kept adding until I thought it seemed right. I didn't use the five spice powder because I've read in other reviews that it's too strong of a flavor, plus I didn't have any. But probably could have used a little bit. I'd have to keep playing around with it to get it to be what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States