Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Plenty good. Basically like stir fry. I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
this was great, i added about 2 tbsp maple syrup and doubled the honey and tripled the teriyaki sauce, and garlic powder for the sauce, then brushed it on to the chicken and let the chicken marinade for about an hour, then i breaded it in flour, sesame seed, black pepper, red pepper flakes, and more garlic powder, i lightly breaded each chicken breast tender and then baked it for about 1/2 an hour at 400, i turned it once 1/2 way through...and i sauted the onions and peppers in the same sauce and added them when i turned the chicken. When it was done i removed the chicken and added a cup of chicken broth to the baking dish and scraped the pan and mixed it all together, it was delicious!! I served with white rice, green beans, and home made egg rolls that a friend made. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Love this recipe; have shared with many friends. I would recommend doubling or possibly tripling the sauce recipe. This is SO good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mokane, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was fantastic! I made it exactly to the recipe, but would double the sauce next time. No other changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My boyfriend and I made this the other night, and ate all of it in one sitting. It did not taste like the cheap Chinese take-out we had hoped to emulate, but it was very very good anyway. We did make a couple of changes to the original recipe though. First we omitted the onion and green pepper, just per our personal tastes, I used fewer sesame seeds as well, maybe 1/4 cup total. We also added about 1 teaspoon of freshly ground ginger to the sauce at the end. As other reviewers have said, DEFINITELY increase the sauce amount, as the chicken soaks up a lot. Others have said to triple it, and I agree, quadruple it if you'd like extra to serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It was ok. The flavor was good, but perhaps a tad too sweet. It's a big mess to make. Overall not impressive enough to be worth the fat intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
simply awesome! I've been looking for a recipe like this, but was skeptical it would come out well. It really surprised me! My whole family loved it too! I made as is, but next time will double the sauce because it was so good that there wasn't enough of it! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I, like many others, thought that the amount of sesame seeds was excessive. I used 2 tablespoons for the 1 cup of flour and it was fine. I used that amount of flour to make a double recipe. I, like many others, doubled or tripled the sauce. Loved it. If you don't like spice, leave out the crushed red pepper. It wasn't too hot, but if you don't like spice, leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was ok for me, my kids seem to love it. However, I did do a couple of things different. First, I floured the chicken and fried it in my deep fryer for a couple of minutes to make sure it browned evenly. I tried to maked more sauce but not sure how it would turn out so I stopped. Next time I will just go to town on it. For the people that could not find the chinese five spice powder look for an asian store nearest you and you will find other spices and marinades we use daily (Cheaper)... I will try this again.... Oh, since I didn't fry the chicken in the same pan everything else was cooked in I sprinkled a little of my flour mixture in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Golden City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States