Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My first attempt at eggnog! I must have done something wrong though. There are small chunks in the end product.. I think I may have cooked the mixture too much. However, after sifting it, its pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have been trying different eggnog recipes for years, but this is the best!! It really is amazingly good. This will be my permanent recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I give this recipe five stars because seriously this is true eggnog. But here's a WARNING, while making this a little angel came by and stopped me from pouring the 2 and a half cups of rum into the mix. Instead i added 1 cup and for me it was just right couldn't imagine adding more. Next week when i make this again, i'm going to make a batch especially for the kids and definitely no rum at all will be added. Its still that good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I just had to try to make homemade eggnog.... this recipe turned out great.... I followed the recipe exactly.... definately being cautious about over cooking the egg..... turned out wonderful... I divided in half and cut the alcohol back by about a 1/4 cup for half which would be a 1/2 cup for the recipe.... next time I think I will just make a whole batch non alcoholic and then if people want they can spike their own very good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
So yummy but so fatty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is so creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter. I didn't put the rum in until after I'd split the egg nog into two bowls so the kids and Grandpa (who doesn't drink) could have some as well. I didn't listen to the recipe regarding how much rum to put in, I just added it a little at a time until it tasted right to me. Everybody loves it. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYMCANALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claypool, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have always hated egg nog. I like this. I whipped the egg whites to peaks and added to the egg nog and used heavy cream because that is how my grandmother made it. I did not add the rum and replaced the cloves with all-spice. I used a thermometer when cooking the milk-yolks mix so the temp would not get above 165 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Was wonderful & everyone loved this eggnog. Used half heavy cream & half 2% milk. Did have to cook longer than called for to make thick enough. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This eggnog wakes up a Christmas taste memory of what my aunt made when I was a child. It is a 5-star "base" to a wonderful egg-nog recipe that should be tweaked to your own taste preferences. Wanting to keep it non-alcoholic, I replaced the rum with a pint of heavy whipping cream, adding 1 cup directly to the nog and whipping the second cup (add sugar a couple of teaspoons of sugar while whipping) to dollop on top. To accommodate the add'l richness, I added 5 *more* whole cloves and several shakes more of cinnamon - should have left the cloves at the original 5, but the flavor did mellow as the nog "aged" overnight - won't do it again. I also cut the sugar back by 1/2 cup. Just as a note - if you're not concerned with raw eggs consumption, my aunt would beat the egg whites to a soft peak and add them into the eggnog before serving. Add a couple of tbls of sugar while beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatstoomuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States