Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Too sweet if you don't use any alcohol (which recipe says is optional). Might be too much sugar with all that rum too, haven't tried it. I strongly suggest starting with only 3/4c sugar; you can stir in more at the end if not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is very good. This has been my 4th year in a row that I've made it. This year I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and next year in 2012, I intend to cut the sugar amount to 3/4 cup. Also, since the beginning I've used 1/2 & 1/2 in place of the cream and I use our local "Cruzan" dark rum. Lastly, I double the recipe for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
WOW!! This turned out incredibly tasty. My stove sucks so the milk never boiled, even after 2 hours, so I tempered the eggs with the very hot milk and then cooked the eggnog on the stove top, again it never really thickened. My only change was adding a dash of cardamon. I served it Christmas Eve and everyone agreed it was incredible! I may never buy eggnog again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Super yummy!! I followed recipe exactly except halfed the nutmeg and substituted milk for rum for the kids. Awesome! be sure to let it set for a day or two to blend. I will never use another recipe, it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Amazingly good. I scaled it down for4 people. I used 1 1/2 cups of milk, and 1 packet (1 cup) of cream and two eggs. Followed the process. Really good. I was craving for it for days after..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My first attempt at eggnog! I must have done something wrong though. There are small chunks in the end product.. I think I may have cooked the mixture too much. However, after sifting it, its pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have been trying different eggnog recipes for years, but this is the best!! It really is amazingly good. This will be my permanent recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I give this recipe five stars because seriously this is true eggnog. But here's a WARNING, while making this a little angel came by and stopped me from pouring the 2 and a half cups of rum into the mix. Instead i added 1 cup and for me it was just right couldn't imagine adding more. Next week when i make this again, i'm going to make a batch especially for the kids and definitely no rum at all will be added. Its still that good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I just had to try to make homemade eggnog.... this recipe turned out great.... I followed the recipe exactly.... definately being cautious about over cooking the egg..... turned out wonderful... I divided in half and cut the alcohol back by about a 1/4 cup for half which would be a 1/2 cup for the recipe.... next time I think I will just make a whole batch non alcoholic and then if people want they can spike their own very good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
So yummy but so fatty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States