Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I just had to try to make homemade eggnog.... this recipe turned out great.... I followed the recipe exactly.... definately being cautious about over cooking the egg..... turned out wonderful... I divided in half and cut the alcohol back by about a 1/4 cup for half which would be a 1/2 cup for the recipe.... next time I think I will just make a whole batch non alcoholic and then if people want they can spike their own very good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
So yummy but so fatty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is so creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter. I didn't put the rum in until after I'd split the egg nog into two bowls so the kids and Grandpa (who doesn't drink) could have some as well. I didn't listen to the recipe regarding how much rum to put in, I just added it a little at a time until it tasted right to me. Everybody loves it. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYMCANALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claypool, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have always hated egg nog. I like this. I whipped the egg whites to peaks and added to the egg nog and used heavy cream because that is how my grandmother made it. I did not add the rum and replaced the cloves with all-spice. I used a thermometer when cooking the milk-yolks mix so the temp would not get above 165 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Was wonderful & everyone loved this eggnog. Used half heavy cream & half 2% milk. Did have to cook longer than called for to make thick enough. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This eggnog wakes up a Christmas taste memory of what my aunt made when I was a child. It is a 5-star "base" to a wonderful egg-nog recipe that should be tweaked to your own taste preferences. Wanting to keep it non-alcoholic, I replaced the rum with a pint of heavy whipping cream, adding 1 cup directly to the nog and whipping the second cup (add sugar a couple of teaspoons of sugar while whipping) to dollop on top. To accommodate the add'l richness, I added 5 *more* whole cloves and several shakes more of cinnamon - should have left the cloves at the original 5, but the flavor did mellow as the nog "aged" overnight - won't do it again. I also cut the sugar back by 1/2 cup. Just as a note - if you're not concerned with raw eggs consumption, my aunt would beat the egg whites to a soft peak and add them into the eggnog before serving. Add a couple of tbls of sugar while beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatstoomuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My sister and I have made this for years and loved it, but always hated how you had cinnamon dregs at the bottom. This year I decided to try using two cinnamon sticks instead - and it was brilliant! A much more even flavor throughout, and no dregs. USE CINNAMON STICKS! ps. As a side note, I also occasionally make this lactose free since my husband can't drink the regular stuff. Just replace the milk and the light cream with whole milk Lactaid. (You'll want to use only whole to maintain the thickness.) It turns out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Our new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this twice now. Both times I used all half and half instead of milk and half and half. Absolutely fabulous. The only reason I use the cream instead of milk is our family likes our nog very thick. This is hands down the best nog we've ever had. You will never buy store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Buhajla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States