Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made it just like the recipe called for. We had it Christmas eve and morning and it was great! I was even asked for the recipe from a friend who rarely drinks egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PezPez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Never had eggnog before and this was simply amazing! Followed recipe. Store in an easy to shake container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was a great recipe. I used 3 different types of sugars and Paul Masson Brandy instead of rum. Paul Masson is really smooth; therefore, making the eggnog smooth to taste. I probably used more than the recipe called for but you have to taste test as you go as with any recipe so that you cater to your own tastebuds. I saw that another review mentioned using a light colored rum and the eggnog did not come out well. I recommend only using a dark colored liquor for eggnog. I was skeptical about adding leaving the liquor in over night but it worked out find and mixed well. I whipped the leftover egg whites with sugar for some fluff to add to each glass of eggnog. Made this twice so far and all my family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very tasty,but never really got it to thicken correctly. It didn't effect the taste though. Will try again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to temper the eggs with the hot milk. I also used 3 cups of half and half with 1 cup filtered water. I also added a few cardamom pods along with the spices. Next time I'll add some star anise, too. Served it non-alcoholic with a choice of Myer's dark rum, Sailor Jerry spiced rum, or brandy. Everyone loved it! It was the best I've ever had and an easy recipe for my first time making eggnog. I'll definitely make it again. Thank you for the recipe, this made my holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Too sweet if you don't use any alcohol (which recipe says is optional). Might be too much sugar with all that rum too, haven't tried it. I strongly suggest starting with only 3/4c sugar; you can stir in more at the end if not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is very good. This has been my 4th year in a row that I've made it. This year I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and next year in 2012, I intend to cut the sugar amount to 3/4 cup. Also, since the beginning I've used 1/2 & 1/2 in place of the cream and I use our local "Cruzan" dark rum. Lastly, I double the recipe for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
WOW!! This turned out incredibly tasty. My stove sucks so the milk never boiled, even after 2 hours, so I tempered the eggs with the very hot milk and then cooked the eggnog on the stove top, again it never really thickened. My only change was adding a dash of cardamon. I served it Christmas Eve and everyone agreed it was incredible! I may never buy eggnog again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Super yummy!! I followed recipe exactly except halfed the nutmeg and substituted milk for rum for the kids. Awesome! be sure to let it set for a day or two to blend. I will never use another recipe, it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States