Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
THANK YOU SO MUCH for creating and posting this recipe! We have been in the UK for 11 years and have missed eggnog each year. I'd never tried anything but the store bought stuff back home and have always found Christmas here to be missing that treat! A friend recommended this recipe and I was pleased to see that it called for cooked yolks. We tried it, without the alcohol (and so reduced the sugar to 1c), and LOVED it! Even my husband, who is not a fan of eggnog, thought it was great. I am so pleased that we can have eggnog again at Christmas! Also, many people have commented on 'light cream' - it's the same as half and half, or here in England, single cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulobia Downie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just leave out the rum, and you got the BEST EGGNOG EVER! I usually use more cream than milk, though, just to make it that much more creamy! :D :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Used free-ranged chicken eggs, simply divine!!!! even better with freshly grated nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I have made this eggnog every year for 6 years. It is perfect, the only thing you need to watch for is the rum. Go easy and add it little by little until it tastes where you feel is right. (Or let guests add it to their own glass) Also, helpful hit, make it at least a day before and if possible put it in a clean gallon size milk jug. When ready to serve, take it and shake it up vigorously. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Everyone wanted more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I like my raw egg recipe better. I wanted to try this because I like the idea of making it in advance. Oddly, to me it tasted a very much like store bought except not as sweet. My guests liked it ok although there were leftovers, and with my traditional recipe, I usually have to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! I will never buy eggnog again! I don't like rum, so I omitted it completely. My husband likes it less sweet, so we cut the sugar in half. Super easy to make-LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Best nog Ive ever had , but I made a few mods, though Excluded the cloves Went with half the Liquor that was called for , except in stead of just rum I went with Rum and Bourbon This unseated the eggnog I used to make with Vanilla Ice cream, (Aka Noggen Dasz) as everyones favorite nog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good eggnog! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now, and it has definitely been a hit! The only thing I do differently is omit the rum. Next time I may cut back on the vanilla extract a bit as well, as the vanilla flavor is a bit heavy (but still so yummy). I'm so happy to have found this recipe. Another reason I'm fond of it is that it is a cooked recipe, as raw eggs are something I'm not comfortable consuming. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States