Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe is absolutely awesome. I didn't add rum or spices and it is better than my favourite store bought eggnog. I did have to strain it through a fine sieve as there were a few tiny lumps in it. I think that may have been caused by my heating element which may have been slightly hotter than what recipe called for. WHEN COOLING, KEEP LID OFF POT OR IT WILL COOK FURTHER AND CAUSE LUMPS. I had to throw out small test batch that I made because I tried to cool it with lid on. I think you have to keep whisking it periodically when cooling too. Maybe a couple of strainings through extra fine sieve would have worked even better. It's worth the time and effort. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
this is the best eggnog ever. Some of my family claimed to not like eggnog, but I made them take a sip...then they would fill up their cup. cut the egg yolks to 8. Used half and half instead of cream and no rum since children were here. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Loved this! My mom and dad said they didn't like eggnog, but tried this and were blown away! They said it tasted like liquid pumpkin pie! Thank you for the great recipe! We'll never buy eggnog from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
gave this 4 stars but it was a close run for 5. I read as many negative reviews as possible before reading to see what people were experiencing. I truly believe if you use quality ingredients you will get a quality result. I used local organic whole milk, local organic heavy cream, and Buliett Bourbon (90proof). I only used 2 cups instead of 2 1/2. The flavor of the bourbon enhances this drink so much. And i would never put a clear liquor in this drink. If i were to use rum i would you Barbados Spiced Rum. This is a quality dark rum that is very smooth and not too sweet. That would work well. Also i had to double the nutmeg, i grated it fresh, maybe thats why it required more. Anyways this is awesome and i like it so much i decided to make an extra batch to bring to the inlaws for xmas because i think they will all like it so much and want to be sure i get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yuuum. As it was my first attempt at making homemade eggnog, I was quite pleased. Like others, I cut the rum down to about half, one cup was plenty strong for us. Very rich and smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good eggnog. Beats store-bought by a mile! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kleinpaste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I normally hate when people rate something 5 stars and then talk about how they changed the recipe - but hey, this is such a good base recipe I had to give credit where credit was due. I have used this recipe for years but with two big important changes. I omit the alcohol and I double the spices. This way, people can add in the alcohol cup by cup and it is honestly SUCH a good eggnog without the alcohol in the base recipe (with the rum I find it way too strong and not too tasty). It will give you a very thick eggnog but you can use half and half or light cream or add milk to thin it out once it's finished and cooled. GREAT recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this Egg Nog last year and it was fantastic. I used spiced rum instead of light rum. I'll definitely be making it again this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I really like this recipe. Since "light rum" was specified and I am not really sure what "light rum" is I went with Captain Morgan spice rum which is most delicious in this eggnog. I do use only 1 cup as I would rather under pour and allow guests to add more as opposed to over pouring and ruining my eggnog. Very good thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrangW
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
AMAZINGLY good is right! I don't even drink eggnog and it was delicious! Made it for a Christmas party and was so much better then I thought it would be. Did take note about how strong it was..so I did 2 cups of rum instead of 2.5cups. Added candy canes to be use with the drink and it was perfect as a stirring stick and tastes yummie with the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States