Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
My husband and I both love this recipe! I'm a wimp when it comes to boiling milk, but other than that, it's actually not too hard. I also agree with the previous comment about tempering the eggs with a little of the milk mixture instead of whisking the whole thing in -- saves a little time. Advice for the lazy: Instead of straining for smoothness, I just put a stick blender in it at the very end. (I made sure to fish out the cloves first!) It came out smooth and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
It was pretty complicated for somebody like me, who doesn´t have so much experience but loves to try new things. It turned out nice, but it didn´t blow me away and isn´t any better than a good bought one, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria2809

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Halle, Sachsen-Anhalt, Germany
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Very yummy egg nog! I love egg nog and I love this egg nog. I made without the rum. Next time I will play around with the spices to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This egg nog is very good. I prefer more spices and less sugar. I also did not put any run. But we all enjoyed it very much. It is very important that the milk boil before you begin to add it to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FulshearTwinsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fulshear, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This would've been excellent had I not scorched it! I added heavy whipping cream to it which made it nice and creamy...unfortunately I scorched it while handleling my little baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This eggnog is AMAZING!!! I've never made homemade eggnog and I won't have to search for any other recipe! Seriously... WOW!!! I don't use the rum. And its amazing without it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this last year and it was a hit. Everyone has asked that I make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hippi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good. Needs to be thicker though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
My son is always asking why I didn't buy eggnog (in the middle of summer) so I can't tell you how happy I am to have found this recipe! My cloves were a little old so I decided to use pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon & cloves. I used 11 yolks (one got away from me), 1 1/4 c sugar (will use 1 c next time) and fat free half n' half in place of the light cream (next time I'll try all whole milk). I cooked the whole mixture over low-med heat for about 10-15 minutes & I didn't have any problems with the eggs. I wanted to be extra sure they were safe for my kids to consume. It's chilling in the fridge right now & I can't wait to let my kids try it because it's already delicious! Now time to make an ANGEL FOOD CAKE with all the egg whites! Thank you for a great recipe we can enjoy all year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Very good and very strong! If you are not a big liquor drinker, I would recommend putting less alcohol in it, but otherwise, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States