Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe stated, with timers and all, and it still curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This eggnog is AMAZING! I served it at our Christmas party last night and got rave reviews. I should have made more because we quickly ran out. I didn't have light cream so I used half and half with a touch of heavy cream. Will make this again and again and again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This eggnog is only OK. I have been making eggnog from the "Joy of Cooking " cookbook for many years. Of course this is better than store bought with all the store bought emulsifiers and preservatives. But this eggnog lacks the real egg flavor of egg nogs I have made in previous years. I think cooking the eggs changes or mutes the egg flavor. I added additional raw yokes but still couldn't get it to taste as good the Joy of Cooking recipes. but still, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
She's right. I'll never buy store bought eggnog again!! This recipe tastes exactly like the most expensive brands of eggnog. I left out the rum so my kids can partake, and we just add it in to taste. This recipe is pitch perfect--don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have made this a few times, and every time it is great. People have asked for the recipe for this, rather than the other dishes I brought. A couple of pieces that I would point out: - I use double the amount of cloves, and - Add Allspice to the milk * You really need to bring it to a boil VERY slowly. - It was too sweet when I used the allotted amount of sugar, so I literally use half. - I would also suggest to use fresher eggs, and rinse the shells before cracking them. Enjoy the recipe, it is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the recipe, using one quart of heavy cream and one quart of half and half, instead of the light cream. We don't drink alcohol, so I left the rum out. But I did add rum extract for flavor at the end. I used a whole bottle of extract (1 ounce). But I think next time I'll just use half a bottle. I had a little trouble with the eggs starting to clump up, but I quickly used my stick blender--problem solved. I did not need to strain it. I think this will be a new annual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
12 servings = 1500ml = nicely funneled into two 750ml wine bottles. Additionally, the recipe tastes great but I had trouble getting the mixture to thicken at any stage. Almost all other eggnog recipes I found included whisking the egg whites with sugar until fluffy. I would suggest adding at least 6-10 egg whites to this recipe. Still separate the eggs but split the sugar between whisking the egg whites and the yokes. I was able to save the completed (runny) egg nog by chilling it overnight and then adding it to 8 whisked egg whites/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I think people are judging this recipe by the strong liquor taste but everyone has their own preference of how strong their alcoholic drinks should be in my opinion just omit the alcohol while cooking and allow the people drinking it to add the alcohol themselves. I added about 1/2 tsp more of all of the spices and a little more sugar than the recipe calls for. This was the best egg nog I have ever had. I've been drinking egg nog since I was a young girl but it was always purchased from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
0 stars. This really smells bad. I love egg nog and this is not something I can't even get past my tongue. I should have known by the title "amazing" - the worst egg nog I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Yummy! I think next time I'll go easy on the cinnamon but wow it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States