Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have always hated egg nog. I like this. I whipped the egg whites to peaks and added to the egg nog and used heavy cream because that is how my grandmother made it. I did not add the rum and replaced the cloves with all-spice. I used a thermometer when cooking the milk-yolks mix so the temp would not get above 165 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Was wonderful & everyone loved this eggnog. Used half heavy cream & half 2% milk. Did have to cook longer than called for to make thick enough. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This eggnog wakes up a Christmas taste memory of what my aunt made when I was a child. It is a 5-star "base" to a wonderful egg-nog recipe that should be tweaked to your own taste preferences. Wanting to keep it non-alcoholic, I replaced the rum with a pint of heavy whipping cream, adding 1 cup directly to the nog and whipping the second cup (add sugar a couple of teaspoons of sugar while whipping) to dollop on top. To accommodate the add'l richness, I added 5 *more* whole cloves and several shakes more of cinnamon - should have left the cloves at the original 5, but the flavor did mellow as the nog "aged" overnight - won't do it again. I also cut the sugar back by 1/2 cup. Just as a note - if you're not concerned with raw eggs consumption, my aunt would beat the egg whites to a soft peak and add them into the eggnog before serving. Add a couple of tbls of sugar while beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatstoomuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My sister and I have made this for years and loved it, but always hated how you had cinnamon dregs at the bottom. This year I decided to try using two cinnamon sticks instead - and it was brilliant! A much more even flavor throughout, and no dregs. USE CINNAMON STICKS! ps. As a side note, I also occasionally make this lactose free since my husband can't drink the regular stuff. Just replace the milk and the light cream with whole milk Lactaid. (You'll want to use only whole to maintain the thickness.) It turns out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Our new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this twice now. Both times I used all half and half instead of milk and half and half. Absolutely fabulous. The only reason I use the cream instead of milk is our family likes our nog very thick. This is hands down the best nog we've ever had. You will never buy store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Buhajla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe stated, with timers and all, and it still curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This eggnog is AMAZING! I served it at our Christmas party last night and got rave reviews. I should have made more because we quickly ran out. I didn't have light cream so I used half and half with a touch of heavy cream. Will make this again and again and again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This eggnog is only OK. I have been making eggnog from the "Joy of Cooking " cookbook for many years. Of course this is better than store bought with all the store bought emulsifiers and preservatives. But this eggnog lacks the real egg flavor of egg nogs I have made in previous years. I think cooking the eggs changes or mutes the egg flavor. I added additional raw yokes but still couldn't get it to taste as good the Joy of Cooking recipes. but still, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
She's right. I'll never buy store bought eggnog again!! This recipe tastes exactly like the most expensive brands of eggnog. I left out the rum so my kids can partake, and we just add it in to taste. This recipe is pitch perfect--don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States